BOY MEETS GIRL - FICTION

in #bigwaves6 years ago (edited)

A spectacular day it was, with the sky blooming and the sun smiling. I looked up and saw many passers-by walking by without noticing what happened to me. Some minutes ago, I was walking on the highway, without taking note of a big stone on my path, I fell. I expected at least an individual to say sorry, but all were locked up in their own world. Within few minutes, I got hold of myself and hurriedly dusted off some particles on my sparkling new gown I had just gotten myself. I wanted to appear all beautiful that Monday morning. Since the traffic in Lagos was getting too fecund, I decided to leave my car at home on few occasions and take a drop to work.

download (2).jpg
Source

Today, I was not so fortunate because my regular bike man could not purchase fuel due to fuel scarcity. I decided to get a bike. It was not quite long after the bike man dropped me that I tripped again on my way into the compound. I quickly rose up, dusted myself yet again and walked in like nothing happened.

lagos_2001.jpg
SOURCE

I was all smiles as I saw Fred walk past, I hollered him a sweet morning and he complimented my sparkling black gown. He noted, it was made just for me. With that compliment ringing in my head I walked with my head high down the office. I went straight to my office to begin work in earnest. By the way, I work in a bank. I work in the marketing unit and as a matter of fact, I head the unit. My co-workers and I are to hold a meeting at the moment. We would brainstorm on how we can attract more customers to invest in our shares. At the end of the meeting, I was summoned by the manager to give a brief on our meeting, as that was the head office

My working in a bank didn’t better my social skills, such as going out to events, having fun or gisting with friends. I was a workaholic. All I get buried in was my job. You won’t be too surprised that I was still single at 27. Not until my mother kept calling and hammering it into my ears to work on my social life did I take a look at myself that I was getting older by the day.

Anyways, it wasn’t my fault I closed my eyes to guys because all I have ever loved wanted different things out of life. The last occurrence that broke my heart was James. We were very close friends, I called him every day and he did same. We talked about everything going on in our lives like we were a couple already. Little did I know he never took me to heart, he just saw me as a friend he could lean on. I was shattered the day he told me he proposed to a girl at work. I thought we were going to get married as we were so close. Anyway, he got married last year and has a son now. That has always been my story either guys just seeing me as a friend or never saying their feelings about me till we parted ways.

Another was Raymond at my university, we were close friends did everything together but he was afraid of telling me about his feelings. You wonder how I know ? It was he himself that confessed to me a night to his wedding. That night, I went to deliver him his wedding gift as I would be going on a business trip the next day (that was two years ago). So, I just held on to myself not to give too much attention to any guy so I wouldn’t fall a prey of emotional trauma again.

After mom advised me to meet new people, I started going on blind dates which always turned out woeful because either the guy was below my class, too full of himself or was just not my type. I just decided to stop all that and wait on God to bring me the best.

a32914156b6aec5800083064ab1c6811--natural-hair-styles-black-girls.jpg
Source

On Saturday, I got ready to do some shopping at shop rite. I slipped into a red gown I newly bought as I am a great fan of clothes. It gave me the nice, cute and lovely shape I loved. I set out to go shopping spree with my flat mate. She took one look at me and with a ‘wow’ look she commented that she wished I was going on a date in that gown. I laughed out loud and told her she would meet ‘him’ soon even though we were both aware there was no one in sight. We both had a wonderful time shopping we paid for our bills and just as were stepping out of the mall, I bumped into a man who was on phone not looking at where he was going. I didn’t even look at his face, I bent to pack my things which he did alongside. And in the sweetest voice I have heard, he said sorry

To be continued

Sort:  

Hmm.. Interesting story, looking forward to the second part. Btw, i love your choice of word and expression. Keep it up

#bigwaves

Thanks love... Stay tuned

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63510.75
ETH 3065.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82