Aleksa's Book Review: Automating OSINT

in #bigdata5 years ago

As much as I'd like to be a person that knows how statistics and programming work in the pursuit of big data information collection, I'm a mere mortal who has much to learn. That's why I tried to get a hold of this book to round out my knowledge in this nascent and somewhat mystical field. With the goal of research and intelligence in mind, I dove right in.

At the start, some scaremongering about personal data security and FANG companies is mentioned - nothing you don't already know and nothing you can really effectively change. However, after that comes the description of how the digital architectures of big data actually function. I can't speak to much comprehension of the mathematical formulas, but the descriptions of the algorithms are more than clear enough for a layman.

In any case, I definitely won't be designing any OSINT programs using the knowledge from this book, but that's more a fault of mine than of the read itself. For anybody who wants to get into network architectures for intelligence-centric fields, I doubt there are many books better than this one. I'll definitely know what to look for in a network architect when the time comes to work with one.

6/10

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64222.08
ETH 3135.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99