Putting principles above politics.

in #biden4 months ago

image.png

I didn't watch the full state of the union, but I know from the first minute or two that Biden began by talking about how democracy was under attack.

I assume he went on to say what he meant by that was that thankfully the Supreme Court voted 9-0 to say "of course you can't just remove a major party candidate from the ballot without conviction or even charging him with a crime", that using the justice system to conduct political prosecutions wasn't an acceptable form of attack, and that alphabet agencies working with social media companies to censor specific speech to influence the results of a domestic election actually is a case of government action.

I'm glad he (I assume he did if that's how he began) went on to acknowledge that. I'm no fan of democracy and think it encourages populists like Trump, but I do support principles like basic fairness and oppose things like corruption. If we're gonna have elections, they should at least be free and fair and democratic institutions should be honest. So I'm happy Biden (I assume) took that higher road despite the fact that anti-democratic tactics were being used against his opponent rather than him. I'm happy he was able to put principles above politics. Kudos to that, because or country surely could use that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66822.94
ETH 3490.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.90