You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Bot Experience: From a Bot Runner Perspective

in #bidbots7 years ago

Thanks Eon

This is a very wise and thoughtful appraisal of the system here and I think you're right. Bidbots are helping the greedy few take a disproportionate and undeserved wedge of the pie. Creative people are suffocating in the slurry.

Trending: yes, that page is full of shit. It's annoying to search for my fav topics only to wade through tonnes of shitposts to find anything decent.

Also there's no profit in using a bidbot. If anything, I've found I've lost money. The SBD payout is often smaller than (or the same as) the cost of the bid.

You've convinced me. I have decided, from now on, to use no more bidbots. My future contest posts will contain prizes from my own wallet without leeches syphoning off their %. I will no longer delegate to bidbots. I'm keeping my money in my wallet and will upvote content that I think deserves it.

We need to develop a more organic way of lifting quality, meaningful or useful content to the eyes of our community.

Resteeming and upvoting is a good way IMO. So many people resteem shite just because they're friends with the person without first considering the quality. I know it's hard, if we're friends, but this habit is just as damaging. Let's find quality posts and trumpet about them so that we can build organic quality control.

I understand your stance on flagging for the reasons you mentioned. I wish there was another way. As you know, I consider flagging as censorship but it makes sense in the context you described.

Thanks :)

SIGNATURE.png

Sort:  

I agree about resteems. I recently unfollowed someone, even though I like their posts, because they were drowning my feed with resteems. I don't mind a few resteems - in fact, they have helped me discover great content and great authors - but when your feed is just a list of 10 or 20 resteems, all from the same account, that's too much!

Yes, me too @natubat... Some resteems are useful but some people just overdo it; it's annoying to wade through. Unfollow :P

cheers
Anj :)

I don't censor posts. I negate value added to them. So maybe that's still in alignment with how you feel about flagging. I won't say people should be flagged to oblivion, because that would be censorship.

Yeah, I resteem very sparingly. And unfollow excessive resteemers unless they actually are good.

And in the end, I think I knew these things deep down while using the bots. I was greedy (though really as you say it didn't even gain very much)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 66852.45
ETH 2597.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66