Restoring vintage racing bicycles.

in #bicycle7 years ago

Since I retired I have started restoring machines like the ones I raced in the 1970s. Most of them I could not afford at the time as I could not afford Campagnolo components or artisan built frames. I raced on a fairly tight budget before entering the military which took me to Japan and out of racing.

I returned to the US but racing was not in the budget for a few years and when it was time the bikes had changed. All the bikes I owned in the day were 5 speed friction shifted steel framed makers of men. On return it was 7 speed index shifting, later replaced by 8, 9, 10 and 11 gears out back and STI or Ergo shifters in the brake levers.

Today I find myself restoring the type of bikes I raced in the '70s, but these are the high end machines I could not afford back in the day. My current build is a frame by a lesser know artisan builder from Italy. The guy that built the frame has passed away, the shop he left his heirs sell only factory made bikes, most of them Bianchi. The frame I have was a widow display unit that never saw race duty, the fork was used for a factory sponsored bike but another unpainted fork was included. in my purchase. The frame is in it's original paint, I painted the fork to match.

This build will be a 6 speed friction shift bike with a full Campagnolo Groupo. 6 speed was just being rolled out in 1976. I have used everything as it would have been had the bike been assembled in Italy in the 1970s. The threading on the hub for the cluster is Italian NOT English.

When it comes time to sell I am a bit torn. I love clipless pedals, who doesn't? But I feel this machine deserves a set of Campagnolo road pedals and toe clips with a real leather binding. A bike like this today would come without pedals all together as they figure the buyer has their own preference. I think just for the show piece quality I am looking for I think Ill out the old Campagnolo pedal and toe clips on it.

The next I have to do is build the wheels. I was an accomplished wheel builder when I turned 14. Today I see the industry turns out the type of wheels I was ding way back when. A lot of radial laced and 2 pattern wheels. But for this bike I will go with the standard of it's time. 3 cross lacing on large flange hubs with 36 hole rims. I have the hubs, I am looking for a nice set of Italian rims preferably Fiame or Nisi and a set of Clement Del Mundo tires to complete the wheels and be technically correct for the year.

I have a vintage San Marco saddle already.

Bars and stem are Cinelli, I was leanin 3T but decided Cinelli made a better statement.

Currently all I need to buy are rims spokes and brakes. The rims have proved to be a challenge. I'd like new old stock but those with them have set prices I'm not willing to pay and neither is anyone else as they have been in ebay stores for 5 years. I may make an offer on a set even though it's not listed as an option.

I'd like to get this one off my stand and get my track bike started.4912073079_display.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65733.39
ETH 3506.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51