@Girlbeforemirror's Bicscrawl Elephant - With Color!

in #bicscrawl7 years ago

@Girlbeforemirror's Elephant - With Color!

I have added color to @Girlbeforemirror's "Bicscrawl" Elephant that she did a couple weeks ago.  I thought this elephant was so cute, so I thought I'd bring it to life with some color.  I hope you like what I did with it.  I didn't really change it much, but, I did add a few little touches.

This elephant reminds me of visiting the Santa Barbara Zoo as a child.  There was an elephant that didn't live at the zoo, and was owned by a private citizen, that was contracted by the Zoo to give elephant rides.  I remember that elephant having a blanket over it's back, sort of like the one in this drawing.  Can't remember that elephant's name, but I do remember riding on him/her a few times.  He/she was smaller than the elephants they had on exhibit. So it was probably an Asian Elephant, and the other ones on exhibit were probably African Elephants.

I remember watching the other elephants at the zoo - many times, too.  I think (if I remember right) there were 3 of them and they were very large - so they were probably African Elephants. 

Several years ago, I took my daughter to the Circus.  I probably shouldn't have taken her.  I am aware of the animal abuse issues surrounding circuses, but thought it would be fun for her to see a circus.  So, don't hate me.  But, while we were there, two things happened in regards to elephants that I will never forget.  The first thing is that during intermission, I let my daughter do the elephant ride.  I didn't ride the elephant, just her.  So, while she was riding the elephant, I was down below, outside the ring, taking photos.  There were a couple elephants giving rides.  I remember watching them and being able to tell by the expression in the elephant's faces - that they DIDN'T like having to give rides to people.  The elephants seemed bored, annoyed.  Then, later at the end of the circus performance, it was time for the elephants to come out and perform.  They had the elephants basically dancing to music.  And, I remember watching them and being able to tell that the elephants were having fun!  As much as I hate the idea of elephants being in captivity and being forced to do tricks - those elephants liked the music and they liked dancing, or so it seemed to me.  

As much as it may be fun/cute to watch elephants do tricks and/or dance (and I still feel guilt for having had gone to that circus), it is WAY more humane to let elephants be elephants and live in the wild.  I'd like to bring your attention to an Elephant Sanctuary that I have been aware of for the past few years.  


The Elephant Sanctuary in Tennessee

The Elephant Sanctuary has 2700 acres for the elephants to roam on.  the Asian & African elephants have separate areas.  Currently there are 27 elephants living there.  You can visit their website to learn about each elephant's history.  Their website also lists each elephant that has been there in the past who have passed away.

The following video shows two elephants (Shirley & Jenny) who used to be at a circus together, being reunited in 1999 at the sanctuary after having been separated for 25 years.


Sort:  

Ow wowie! Looks great either way, allthough the colors do liven it up a lot!

wow love the elephant art thank you

With love,

harj : ) xoxo
Abstract artist
(My latest artwork is "Government")

Just want to make sure that you realize it is @Girlbeforemirror's artwork. I just added color. :) Here's her original post, so you can go give her a like over there: https://steemit.com/bicscrawl/@girlbeforemirror/word-jumble-and-jumbo-free-write-pen-and-bicscrawl

ahhh thanks for that colour looks really good and Thank you! pyroqngs great to get your interpretation on my last art post called "Government" your insight would help us : )

With love,

harj : ) xoxo
Abstract artist
(My latest artwork is "Government")

This is gorgeous. I can see how you visiting a zoo as a child brings out such a passionate drawing. Fantastic!

Hi
Thanks for adding colour to this. I appreciate the support.
I have a collection of painted elephants. I got the first set of green ones when I was a baby. They mean a lot to me.
This reminds me of them. <3 🐘
Here is a sample of them.
PSX_20180122_110524.jpg
The zoo in Sydney has an ex circus elephant.
It rocks from side to side because of it's past. I've been to many circus shows too when I was a kid, but we do things differently when we know differently.
Sadly I can see similar things happening at zoo's or sea world's where the shows take precedence to preservation. There are tigers at a world in Australia, (I can't remember which one), Sea World or Australia zoo, that walks tigers on a leash...

Great post tnx for sharing i just upvoted check out my new post steemitalltheway

Beautiful picture and beautiful story about elephants .

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62102.06
ETH 2415.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49