My Bible Journey

in #bible7 years ago (edited)


I started reading the Bible just before I was pregnant (my baby is five months old now) and read it from cover to cover. This is my second time around and am pretty pleased with my Bible Study.

I have always been curious about many different subjects in life. I am in the medical field and am an Actor/Model. I studied science extensively while in college and understand most of what the world has to offer. I am well versed in design, fashion, and the arts as well.

Although I have read different religious texts and experience others, the Bible was uncharted territory. I have read many different books of Siddharta Buddha, Tibetan Buddhism, Astrology, Egyptian/Greek/Roman Mythology, traveled to Japan - experienced Shintoism, different cultural practices of Voodoo, I even had paranormal encounters of ghosts/spirits... the list pretty much goes on and on...

Pretty much growing up I had some sort of adversity to Christianity... not that they did anything wrong, but the introductions were always so forced and I found it repelling. In those uncomfortable encounters, I decided to make a choice and listen to what I've always heard about Evangelicals, etc...

Now, being wholly introduced to the Word of God I understand why people were so overzealous in preaching about Christianity and the Word of God. But before that could happen, I had to get my hands on the Bible. Unbeknownst to me, there are many different versions of it!!! I had to do my research and it led me to The King James Version. It took me half a day to find a copy of that in New York City! I went to huge churches, cathedrals, and book stores! NOTHING! None of the book stores even sold the Bible!! I was astonished! Anyway, I did find a copy at The Christian Science center. I love it!

Photo on 3-6-18 at 11.17 AM.jpg

I'll continue more of my findings and discoveries in later posts...hope you enjoyed reading!

Sort:  

Great to hear about your story! Sounds quite similar to mine with all the different areas of searching, if you ever want to read but you haven't got your book this is a free online bible library https://www.biblegateway.com/ They have over 30 translations available (including the KJV). Thanks for sharing anyway, I look forward to hearing more 🙌😃

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56998.67
ETH 2405.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28