BIBLE STORIES # 45 - The last supper with the students

in #bible7 years ago

Easter was approaching, a spring holiday that Jews celebrated in memory of how the Lord brought their ancestors out of Egypt. Remembering that far night, they pierced the lamb as a sacrifice to God, and then sat down for the Easter dinner.

Jesus and the disciples also gathered at the festive table. Jesus knew that the hour of His suffering was very near. When the supper was coming to an end, He took the bread, broke it and said:

  • Take it, eat it! This is My body, which I give for you.

Then He blessed the cup of wine and said:

  • Drink from it all! This is My blood, which is shed for you, that your sins be forgiven. I know that one of you has betrayed me, and I will not be with you for long. I give you a new commandment: Love one another as I love you. Do not be afraid and do not be sad: I am going to the Father to prepare a place for you and send an Assistant - the Holy Spirit. He will always teach you how to live by God's righteousness. And you, if you love Me, keep My commands.

The disciples were dismayed, but they did not fully understand what Jesus was talking about. They vied with each other in vain that they loved Him, never betrayed or left.

Sort:  

This post has received gratitude of 1.00 % from @jout

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67284.54
ETH 3306.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71