SAVE ME OH LORD!

in #bible-review6 years ago

TEXT: Psalms 31:14-16

14 But I trusted in thee, O LORD: I said, Thou art my God.
15 My times are in thy hand: deliver me from the hand of mine enemies, and from them that persecute me.
16 Make thy face to shine upon thy servant: save me for thy mercies' sake.

David wrote this Psalm when he was in great trouble and in affliction. Though he was a strong man, skilled in battle, yet he knew that his skills could not save him from the powers that were against him. He therefore asked that God himself come to save him by His mercy.

Just like David, a lot of us are contending with some forces that seem stronger than us. For some, it is sickness, for some others, it is either conspiracy at work or poverty or shame or even spiritual attack. The more we try to fight these battles ourselves, the more powerless and helpless we become. Only God can deliver us from forces against us – By His Mercy.

When Do We Need to Call on God to Save Us?

When Down With sickness

God is the greatest physician. He has the solution to all kinds of sicknesses and diseases, and He also has power over death.
Jesus healed a paralyzed man (Luke 5:24-25)

24 But that ye may know that the Son of man hath power upon earth to forgive sins, (he said unto the sick of the palsy,) I say unto thee, Arise, and take up thy couch, and go into thine house.
25 And immediately he rose up before them, and took up that whereon he lay, and departed to his own house, glorifying God.

Blind Bartimaeus cried for mercy and his blindness of many years was healed. (Mark 10:47-52)

47 And when he heard that it was Jesus of Nazareth, he began to cry out, and say, Jesus, thou son of David, have mercy on me.
51 And Jesus answered and said unto him, What wilt thou that I should do unto thee? The blind man said unto him, Lord, that I might receive my sight.
52 And Jesus said unto him, Go thy way; thy faith hath made thee whole. And immediately he received his sight, and followed Jesus in the way.

Jesus raised Lazarus from dead (John 11:43-44)

43 And when he thus had spoken, he cried with a loud voice, Lazarus, come forth.
44 And he that was dead came forth, bound hand and foot with graveclothes: and his face was bound about with a napkin. Jesus saith unto them, Loose him, and let him go.

When in trouble

In 2 kings 4:1-7, the widow was in great debt, but she cried unto God through the prophet and her troubles vanished in one day.

1 Now there cried a certain woman of the wives of the sons of the prophets unto Elisha, saying, Thy servant my husband is dead; and thou knowest that thy servant did fear the LORD: and the creditor is come to take unto him my two sons to be bondmen.
5 So she went from him, and shut the door upon her and upon her sons, who brought the vessels to her; and she poured out.
6 And it came to pass, when the vessels were full, that she said unto her son, Bring me yet a vessel. And he said unto her, There is not a vessel more. And the oil stayed.
7 Then she came and told the man of God. And he said, Go, sell the oil, and pay thy debt, and live thou and thy children of the rest.

Hannah was in deep trouble due to barrenness. She tried all she knew but no solution came, until she cried to God and her troubles of many years disappeared. (I Samuel 1:9-11; 20)

We must call upon God wen we are faced with spiritual battles.

The mad man of Gadara (Mark 5:1-20) was being afflicted by demons but when they saw Jesus, they trembled and Jesus finally cast them away and shut them up.

6 But when he saw Jesus afar off, he ran and worshipped him,
7 And cried with a loud voice, and said, What have I to do with thee, Jesus, thou Son of the most high God? I adjure thee by God, that thou torment me not.
8 For he said unto him, Come out of the man, thou unclean spirit.

Jesus also delivered a boy from the dumb spirit.

Mark 9:17 And one of the multitude answered and said, Master, I have brought unto thee my son, which hath a dumb spirit;
21And he asked his father, How long is it ago since this came unto him? And he said, Of a child.
25 When Jesus saw that the people came running together, he rebuked the foul spirit, saying unto him, Thou dumb and deaf spirit, I charge thee, come out of him, and enter no more into him.

We should also call on God when we are downcast, helpless, rejected, in battle, and so on. No matter the situations and circumstances we go through, God is ready to save us and set us free. He is our ever present help in times of need. Call upon Him Today!
(Psalms 121:1-2; Proverbs 18:10)

Proverbs 18:10 The name of the LORD is a strong tower: the righteous runneth into it, and is safe.

Only the righteous is assured of salvation upon calling the name of the Lord. Therefore, if you have not given your life to Christ, now is the time to do that because today is the day of salvation. Say these words out loud if you've made that decision to accept Christ.

Lord Jesus, I come before you today with my burden of sin, I confess that I am a sinner and I repent of my sinful nature. I believe in my heart that you died for my sins and rose again the third day. Now I confess you as Lord over my life and I ask that you reign forever over me. Today, I receive your gift of righteousness and I am born again. Hallelujah!

God bless you...


20190127_053047_0000.png
Created Using Canva


Thank you so much for visiting my blog. I appreciate your contributions


@tolustx

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by tolustx from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Congratulations @tolustx! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63493.34
ETH 2578.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79