Show Me Your Talent Contest

in #beyourself3 years ago

Good day my fellow steemians, most specially to my Filipino Community. Here is my entry to @olivia08 Show Me Your Talent Contest. I wish to participate to create more activities here in our community. This is my simple talent, Singing.

Ever since I can remember, I really love singing. When I was young during my elementary days, my teachers would always include me in all of our school programs. I have a very very funny story to tell you. When I was in grade four, 10 years old that time. Our Village is celebrating our annual Fiesta. The committee invited me to join in their singing contest. I said I was not ready because I don't have a song for the contest. They told me, well you still have two days to practice which includes the day they came..... haha. My mom told me to sing the song of Ms. Lea Salonga , Somewhere Over The Rainbow. The problem is I don't know yet the whole song. That is my problem really, I only memorize the lines that I love, So I have no complete song. But because they insisted then placed my name on the list of participants which I did not say Yes to yet. It was a shotgun proposal. My mom told me, we will practice right away no worries, you can do it.
The day came, well it was just the day after they invited me. When I was at the stage, there where just a few people on the audience but when I started singing, Oh my! people came from all over and suddenly there were a lot of them in front of me. Upon seeing them, oh my goodness, I felt so nervous that halfway thru the song I kept repeating the lines. Then the guitarist told me.... Ai, we are already going around the song over and over again, continue the whole song. I truly forgot the next lines because I was so nervous. Then the emcee came up the stage and just took the time to say something nice. They said, it's like they were listening to Ms. Lea Salonga in person, that my voice was beautiful so better luck next time. Then they told the audience that I was not really prepared I just had over a day to practice the song. You know, just to pacify me so I won't cry. I felt so humiliated, ashamed, I wish that time i would disappear.

Then the following day, Monday, While I was going to school. Man! Every person I meet literally young and old on the streets, in school, wherever I go people would sing the song, Somewhere over the rainbow to me, imagine for a year! They would sing to me this song. Our community is a place where everybody knows everybody. So, you get the picture! haha.

But, the following year, I joined the contest for our Barangay not just in our Village. This time with a much bigger crowd. Like Hundreds because it was the feast of Sto. Nino so there were a lot of people. There were 27 contestants of all ages. No segregation of the ages. You just have to sing. There was this family, they always go to town fiesta's to join in the singing contests. They always win because they are really very good. Always getting the first, second and third place. It's their family's source of income. But luckily, I got the third place, sang the song, The Greatest Love of all. I came in prepared. After that, people stopped singing to me the song Somewhere over the Rainbow.

So, here is the song that I will never forget. My animated Me.

https://www.messenger.com/messenger_media/?thread_id=100003444564649&attachment_id=4197628790287819&message_id=mid.%24cAABa84nQMOV_xJ7UyF5k1lB6t9cX

https://www.messenger.com/messenger_media/?thread_id=100003444564649&attachment_id=318531953180016&message_id=mid.%24cAABa84nQMOV_xGA_NV5kxpPWN_Fv

Hope you like the story behind this song, my most unforgettable moment. My apologies ate Olivia, I cannot contain the story to 200 words only.

Love,
Joie

Much thanks to @jurich60 who never fails to tell me that she believes in me and to just continue no matter what.

steemit phils GIF footer.gif

Sort:  

For me ate, you have a beautiful voice.

Thank you bunsoi, wag ka magsawa sa mga tanongers ko sayo ha. New pa here kaya need pa assistance. Thank you for readily assisting me.

Youre welcome ate. . Masaya ako na nakatulong ako kahit sa simpleng paraan

Galing I like this cartoon thing, yes...just go on kahit busy, post your first love to do ang singing.Show it to the world.

Hi, @aideleijoie,

Your post has been supported by @dr-frankenstein from the X.

Thank you for your contribution,

Thank you for your support. For a newbie it meant a lot.

Ipakita sa mundo ang talento mo sa pagkanta sis!

Salamat sis, Idol kita eh😘😘

Sayang di ko mapakinggan the link is not working.

ay ganun po ba, video ko yan sir share ko sa messenger then yon yong upload ko sa Steemit po. Naplay naman ng iba like si Wyndel and mother ko @ jurich. Hmmm... why kya.

Di nag pplay sa akin, try ko mamaya sa laptop

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63688.35
ETH 3125.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97