It was spring of 1997 and I remember receiving my first text message..!!steemCreated with Sketch.

Evolution of Social Media

For any of you out there born before the 1990's do you remember where you were when you received your first text message?

For me it was spring of 1997 and I remember exactly where I was when my first text message arrived..!!

I was working over in The Netherlands, in the Europoort, just outside of Rotterdam and had recently arrived on a 3 year contract to put in place a new Contract Methodology for the Shutdown of an Oil Refinery.

Oil Refinery Shutdowns were not new at the time, however the proposed Contract Methodology had never been done before.

A Methodology that required a huge amount of programming, planning and data, and one that pushed the boundaries of technology on the site at that time.

It was whilst I was driving around the Europoort with 3 other Directors that the Text Message arrived.

I remember vividly we all talked about the "little envelope" that had appeared on the screen.

The text message had come from another Director over in the UK.

After replying to the text bizarrely we called back to the UK to make sure it had arrived..!!

Though text messages had been first created in 1992, it wasn't really until the late 1990's that they were adopted by the masses.

...20 years on..!!

It could be argued that SMS Text Messaging was effectively the birth of Social Media as it allowed for the first time instant mobile sharing though only in text format.

In order to see where Social Media is heading you really do not have to look far back and this will give you a very clear picture of where we are heading.

BLOCKCHAIN Technology is being seen as the 3rd Generation of the Internet and this clearly shows that STEEMIT has  positioned itself perfectly for this Social Media transition.

The future is not tomorrow, the future arrived in 2016..!!


Thanks for reading.

Stephen

Sort:  

The days of Nokia eh - they were top dog then I still have some old Nokia 6310 and the Motorola V3 in a box somewhere

I was a Nokia fan for years. Nothing better than carrying a brick in your pocket..!! haha. Stephen

Geez, fancy pants having a cell phone in 1997. LOL
I still had one of these bad boys. hahaha

haha haha I was posh..!! lol. Stephen

MOTOROLA PAGERS USED THEN

Shared on twitter..!! Every little helps. STEEMIT is where the party is at in 2017. Thanks for reading. Stephen

https://twitter.com/StephenPKendal/status/817076888346750976

StephenPKendal Stephen P Kendal tweeted @ 05 Jan 2017 - 18:34 UTC

It was spring of 1997 & I remember receiving my first text message.!! #BLOCKCHAIN #SocialMedia #GameChanger @Steemit

steemit.com/beyondbitcoin/… / https://t.co/zNtHtDhL53

Disclaimer: I am just a bot trying to be helpful.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60265.23
ETH 2324.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55