ATTENTION Cryptonote Coins Major Bug Announced BCN XMR Dashcoin.

in #beyondbitcoin7 years ago (edited)

I just read about a major and critical Bug in all cruptonote based coins on https://getmonero.org/2017/05/17/disclosure-of-a-major-bug-in-cryptonote-based-currencies.html

I have been using minergate to mine some of the affected cryptocurrencies for over a year. Over the past couple of days I've been watching Bytecoin (BCN ) shoot up over 250% and obviously I wasn't the only one who read the story as it crashed almost 50% in a few minutes after the news was released.

C223CD82-6A74-4742-9248-A8954ED42854-13353-00000D0994F61C5D.png

You can read the details of the bug on the post but I have quoted the final part of the realease below. As I think it's critical for anyone holding, trading or mining these coins to know.

Note that, at this time, only Monero, Aeon, Boolberry, and Forknote have updated. We have given the other currencies as much time as possible, but cannot hold back disclosure any longer.

We strongly caution against anyone using, >trading, exchanging, or running services >involving the following currencies affected by >this issue: Bytecoin, DashCoin, DigitalNote

I hold small amounts of several of the affected coins including BCN, XDN, DSH and XMR. Should I bail out for any price or Hold?

Sort:  

Congratulations @stephen-somers! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

Congratulations @stephen-somers! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

According to @smooth.

In addition to the updated coins mentioned in the quote, Dashcoin (not Dash, which is unaffected) was already updated and Bytecoin released an update yesterday.

Just my 2 cents, as I aslo have a few XMR, BCN and a few others don't remember off the top my head, I plan to just keep holding onto them. I will also continue to mine them, even with the bug these do not come across as garbage coins, so I do not think the dev teams will let this stop the development or future uses of these coins. Besides XMR is a major coin on Poloniex. So I would still prefer to hold than bail out!

Being I was thinking of selling my XMR at $4, glad I never did. Gives me hope the future will be brighter!

Just my personal opinion: sell most of your coins (you can save some XMR) and buy Komodo. Platrform is very promising, a lot of good features to come.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 66902.20
ETH 3248.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64