Rory Silva is a good friend, a great skier and a funky diabetic! We got to talking about how steemit can be used to help diabetics

in #beyondbitcoin8 years ago (edited)

This is my good Friend Rory

Rory likes to Ski Skate and will do it till the day he dies.

About 10 years ago he was diagnosed with diabetes. Just to keep himself breathing each month he must pay $1600+.


He was talking to me about how people with medical conditions are forced to pay to live and he mentioned that he wished he could start something to help other people pay for their meds. My brain immediately got to thinking of how steemit could help. I'm sure all of you steemsters know that familiar feeling.

Upvotes for charitable causes....

There are many things I would like to fund with upvotes and/or witness accounts. Funding development of liberating technologies are more of a priority than funding somebody's personal account, but funding people in need could be life changing for all and good press for Steemit.

Charitable witness accounts....

I have been in the steemit rabbit hole since early may and only a month or so ago did the idea of witness accounts that fund charitable causes, cross my mind.

@officialfuzzy and I had a conversation a while back where he mentioned the idea of witness accounts to pay for causes that we would like to support. Since this conversation my brain has spent a bit of time thinking of the different causes that could get funding this way. Here is a small list of the types of causes we could fund with witness accounts.

  1. Development of the Steemit Blockchain
  2. Protection and legal fees for whistleblowers
  3. Groundbreaking science
  4. Online Education
  5. Psychedelic Research
  6. Citizen Journalism

If you'd like to help out Rory Upvote this post!!! 100% of of SBD generated by this post goes to helping Rory buy Humalogs Insulin Pens and One Touch Test Strips

I will discuss the use cases and ideas I have for charitable witnesses in my next post!!

cheers to all!

Sort:  

পটব পিটচব ই ার্

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 58216.02
ETH 2614.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45