P2P Youtube, soon to be steem-enabled [Or not]

in #beyondbitcoin8 years ago (edited)

585126356cf68.jpg

http://video.beyondbitcoin.io

EDIT: I talked about money here. That's not the problem really. I also don't know why I can't get access to the steem developers in the slack chat. I'm just trying to get webtorrent embeds to work like youtube embeds, so our platform can, like, you know, reach a billion dollars in market cap?

I know, it must really be hurting the whale's balls right now that we're not >1b already. Or is it hurting people's balls that I'm trying to build great new things on this platform?

...and given the resistance to this (not to mention the numerous API-related issues effecting downstream projects) can Steemit really be called a platform at all?

Only time will tell.

This, and all of my steem-related work has been made possible by @officialfuzzy.

And I'm not fucking around, either. I mean all of it, every last bit of it. And while I'm not insanely expensive, because I really do like this work and indeed the steem community, I'm certainly not cheap either. Now that I've been invited to the slack, I intend to work with the devs to fix the downstream DX-- or vacate the premises. People, pay attention to this video clip, which should embed like youtube, but doesn't:

http://video.beyondbitcoin.io/videos/watch/584c904e9471da00567ae7dd

see the hash? all we need to do is get the front end to detect magnet links like it does youtube links. Here's an example of what a magnet link looks like:

magnet:584c904e9471da00567ae7dd

Here's a screenshot of the code needed to play a magnet in javascript:

Clipboardimage2016-12-1106371483196.png

The js that enables magnets supports these filetypes:

Clipboardimage2016-12-110651480f780.png

  • Oh, wait, did that mean that we've got a soundcloud equivalent, too....?
  • PDF hosting?
  • Hosting of images?

Yeah.

Here's my first-ever post:
https://steemit.com/content/@faddat/wow-this-platform-here-are-my-thoughts-on-keeping-it-awesome

Here's a quotation from the relevant section:

Keep the Content Under Your Roof, Don't Outsource Hosting: Content is Steem's value

I'm so excited about SteemIt because of the way that it keeps users connected to their content. Currently, users need to upload content (videos, audio, etc) to external platforms for it to be usable on Steemit. Long-term this will dilute the value of the platform overall and causes conflicts of interest. In keeping with the user-driven nature of the site, it would be interesting to try out the concept of a global, user-run CDN for Steemit.
I'd be pleased as punch to collaborate with the community or company behind Steemit to make this happen. It's not as hard as it sounds, though it's also far from easy....
Of my recommendations, this one is the most serious. I think that steemit derives value from content, and therefore needs to get content back under its own roof, post-haste.
In the Slack channel, I saw some mention of using IPFS to do this, and I'd like to recommend against it. IPFS simply isn't as good a solution as webtorrent or maidsafe or another distributed, peer to peer solution .

The corollary to the above is: FIX IMAGES!

Indeed, we here on steemit are good-- quite good. That said, we must get quite better. I want to help. If in the end I cannot help, I will politely show myself the door.

Sort:  

I too have tried to contact the people that know what's being coded.
Every time I ask a technical question of steem, it just sits there.
In chat or on steemit, I seem to get nowhere.

I know how you feel. What have you wanted to build? Why were you unable? Let's actually discuss this instead of dancing around it.

There were several small things that came up under other people's posts of, "wouldn't this be cool?" And if I understood the design structure of their storage model, I could have written it into the code in a day. But, I also know the real issue (for a programmer) is that I need the change to be accepted and tested. Without that pathway in place, may as well give up before I start.

The thing I would like most to deal with is tags. If steemit grows, then it is going to become super important to limit what you see in the feeds to what is actually might be of interest. I go through the "new" feed several times a day, because that is the only way to see all the content. However, over half of the posts are things I will never look at. I could limit them out of my feed mostly by excluding tags.

Several people have asked to have a list of tags (their favorites) be easily accessible. We could easily put it on the feed page above the tag limiting box. I could store the personal info in cookies or on steemit, or on the steemchain, but I do not know which is the most desirable in the schema.

I have asked the questions, and gotten no response.

Where did you ask?

An issue with tags currently is the inability to just get all of a tag from steemd. That's for sure.

Visited the site. The video timed out on me while downloading...... In this world of instant gratification, this might be a problem.

Thank you!

Where are you located? That WOULD be a problem, so I want to solve it. Can you give me any more info about the nature of the problem? There are many reasons that could happen-- for example

  • which video was it?
  • How fast is your connection?

Someone mentioned a "cannot append" error, and I was wrong and I told them that the issue was on their end. I saw that error with one of the videos today on my machine. I'll keep working on the front end though-- I (guess) that is where the problem is.

My first video on video.Beyondbitcoin.io
https://steemit.com/yosemite/@bangking/yosemite-2016-timelapse

Resteemed, we need this ASAP...

Real Interesting. Thanks.

@faddat nice work brother! hey, can i get a user account for @instructor2121? Also, my son @tygergamer, does video uploads of his gameplay on every posts. If you can get him an account that would be great!

I resteemed this for you.

Thanks man for all the hard work you put into these projects.

absolutley. The password will be password for both accounts please just change it :).

thank you sir.

Oh my God!
Resteem and twitter now!!!!

show proof of social sharing and i will 100% upvote it.

A social sharing test twitter

necrus_A3 necrus tweeted @ 10 Dec 2016 - 22:23 UTC

P2P Youtube, pronto para ser steem habilitado [O no] @Steemit

steemit.com/beyondbitcoin/… / https://t.co/Vt2fFBBPeJ
@youtube @facebook @Twitter @future @decentralized

Disclaimer: I am just a bot trying to be helpful.

I think they recently first added vimeo so it can be embedded, so it might take some coding to get that to work from their side. Hope this gets the visibility.

@acidyo what I was trying to say, is that I would do the work on the steemit.com codebase.

They don't need to do anything, except not suck by letting me onto the slack the devs actually use.

so in total here's how they can not suck:

  • Get me onto the slack that the devs use because they sure AF don't use steemit chat, and it's about 100x faster writing code when you have people to ask questions to.
  • A small percentage of accounts that control the most vote power and have the most to gain from this platform using their blockchain (trust me when I say it doesn't have to-- there are a lot of games in this town, and well, I thought I liked this one, but I mean come the hell on.....) might want to take note of this post with their left mouse button....

Ah I see. Hehe I just watched the video, funny I used one same clip in a post a long time ago: https://steemit.com/developers/@acidyo/developers-developers-developers-developers-why-i-know-steemit-will-succeed

but I agree, I think people usually use github to propose new changes and input code so others working on it can evaluate it or something? I apologize I am not too technical and don't know much about that part, but it might just be that they have missed your posts.

It wouldn't also surprise me if they want to be more careful in the future who they are funding depending on some users lately that have decided to quit or cash out on the changes, but that is just something I thought of just now.

But good luck with having magnet links embedded, may I ask if there are any ways for abusive users to use this function to their advantage in some way?

Let me be clear

I'm definitely going to quit if the team isn't receptive. And that is entirely the right thing to do. I've been talking about the issues blocking dev work on steemit forever now. People don't want to have decentralized features of youtube, soundcloud, and image hosting?

OK.

What can I do about it?
Very little without direct assistance in navigating the steemit.com codebase. So....

If the team is receptive, steem market cap is headed to the

MOON.

This is the path to >1B USD / 1.3M BTC. Meaning: Why on earth would I leave the community if these features are implemented? There'd be no reason whatsoever-- I hold a reasonable amount of steem, and it could be worth a lot of money.

Anyway they're fair questions.

If you haven't developed software that interacts with steem, you may not understand the situation. That's OK though-- you don't have this problem, I do.

Let me be doubly clear

The real issue isn't money. It's collaboration.
And given what this is worth, I really don't mind asking for money at all. Money is for transmitting value, after all.

How can i join?

I just made an account for you. Later today I will get logins implemented using busy.org's steemconnect.

584c985c9471da00567ae7df proctologic Dec 11, 2016, 7:05:48 AM

pw is password .....update.... or live dangerously, choice is yours.

Let me in! man!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67363.69
ETH 3247.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66