Have you ever used Cryptocurrency?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #beyondbitcoin7 years ago (edited)

I am taking a poll of Steemit users..

It has struck me in recent days that I use Steem for a lot of things. I pay for services, I pay for things and I tip people every day for their content. There is a really exciting economy developing around this currency. In contrast I have only used Bitcoin and other currencies a handful of times.

The volatility of the last few days have highlighted for me just how much speculation and hype there is in the Crypto Space. This post is a quick poll to find out which currencies people have actually used for anything besides speculation?

Please vote in the comments for any currency that you have used in the past for a real world use case

not just for speculation


Vote for more than one if you have used more.

Sort:  

Vote for Bitcoin

Vote for Steem

Vote for Dash

Vote for Ethereum

Dynamic block size, wallet balance confidentiality, transaction confidentiality, ASIC-resistant mining, no leadership (cult) issues - this is why I believe Monero will be a leading crypto currency.

It has been keeping very quite recently. I have been watching with interest. I have never used it yet though, besides for speculation.

You can use it for bitcoin payments thanks to sites like:

https://xmr.to

Dude, Monero surprises me every time. It's pretty cool!

Vote for Ethereum Classic

Vote for Z Cash

Is that a new currency Joe? I cant find it on coinmarketcap :)

Ahaaaaaaa.
Fucking funny question.
No sir.
I just comment on your blog.
I saw ther very good writer i

Thanks man, I will check out the Aceh Community. Great Banner.

Thanks brother.
Look at my travel in my homp

I expect to have 1 full bitcoin then I would buy things with. I don't intend to exchange them for FIAT. I'll follow you because you're a smart person.

Bitcoin is so hard to spend. There were coffee shops and a bar in Dublin that took it. They have all since stopped.

Vote For CLAM

Interesting choice. Tell us a bit more about Clam Coin.

CLAM is a POS (Proof-Of-Stake) coin that has been around since the CLAM Project launched around early May 2014.

The coins were distributed to every Bitcoin, Litecoin, and Dogecoin address that had a non-dust balance early May of 2014. The addresses that qualify each contain 4.60545574 CLAM each. The developers believed that this was the most optimal way to initially distribute and get the coin into as many hands as possible.

If you have a wallet.dat file that had either BTC, LTC, or DOGE on May 12, 2014, chances are you may be sitting on CLAM coins that just need to be extracted through a process called "digging". You can dig for clams by downloading the client, syncing it, and importing a BTC, LTC, or DOGE wallet and scan for any addresses that may be funded. There are a couple of 3rd party services that can "dig" for you as well. Also keep in mind you need both the public and private keys of the wallet.dat to claim the coin.

So far, only 222,840 of 3,208,032 sets of 4.60545574 CLAM have been dug up so far from the initial distribution.

CLAM is a proof-of-stake coin that provides ongoing distributions, approximately 1 CLAM/minute is given away for wallets that support the CLAM network by staking.

An easy way to think of the ongoing distributions is by comparing it to a raffle ticket drawing where a prize is awarded. 1 CLAM = 1 raffle ticket, so the more CLAM one owns and stakes, the more likely one would be awarded the ongoing 1 CLAM distribution for supporting the network.

It's popular with a well-known crypto game site, but I've also personally used them as a means of payment or receipt for goods and services.

Anyway, this is just a bird's eye view of CLAM coin. Hope I didn't confuse, but let me know if I need to clarify or expand on something!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 66902.20
ETH 3248.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64