You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: [Whaletank Special Announcement] Beyond Bitcoin Hangout #215 - 7/14/17 - (1000+ of Steem in Awards!)

in #beyondbitcoin7 years ago (edited)

hello @officialfuzzy i have been trying to complete joining up and have a problem with accessing bitshares - as i described in my bitshares post - it says i failed to sync with API server - i have the account name and password but didn't deposit any money yet. Any help you can give would really be appreciated -many thanks--my 100%upvote boosted you from $89 to $146

Sort:  

Hey @daydreams4rock, I used to have a lot of problems syncing with the server, too. I watched the video, followed the directions perfectly, and it still wouldn't work. I recall getting the same error as you.

Then, I logged in on a Friday morning when I knew that the Hangout was occurring and it logged in fine and worked perfectly.

I'm glad to help you work thru it, if you'd like. Once it works, then it works great.

yes i would really appreciate that -i am now following you and can't thank you enough as i have been asking for help for a couple of days

please tell me when you have time the steps i should take to sync my API and open the bitshares website ?No hurry , i am appreciative you might be able to help -David

Hey, I'm sorry I'm slow getting back to you.

I realize I misread your question. I assumed it was for the Mumble hangout.

For the API server issue, it's been a real pain in the neck to solve. It doesn't consistently occur for me, and when it does it seems to go away without an issue.

First, do all the obvious things.

  1. Full restart of your computer
  2. Try all different browsers - Chrome, Firefox, IE/Edge. While Chrome is the preferred, you need to see if there is an issue with any of them. On one computer I'll get the error on Chrome but not on IE.
  3. Try it on your mobile.

What OS are you using? Windows? If so, which version? Apple?

Let me know if any of these things get you closer.

Yesterday I couldn't get in on Chrome. Today, it's working fine on one of my computers. There seems to be no rhyme or reason to it.

i will try some of these things tomorrow its midnight and i have to crash for a while == thanks so much for your help - no one else has and it means a lot to me - your a great new friend - yes on windows 7 on laptap

I'm on Win7 on my other computer. I'll see if it automatically syncs time or if there's a download for it.

I'll be at it in about 11 hours, so I'll send an update on it.

thanks very much

I don't have permissions on my computer to update my time, so I couldn't make that change.

This evening I went into my Chrome Settings, Chose "More Tools" then "Clear Browsing Data".

I cleared out all my data over the past 4 weeks (which is one of the options), as I was able to log into the exchange 4 weeks ago via Chrome.

When I went back to the website it took me right in. I had to login and I was able to fully access the exchange and my portfolio.

I hope that works for you, too, along with the other things I had mentioned.

If not, let me know. We'll figure it out.

man ythanks - i will follow your instructions tongiht -- your really a champion friend for trying to help me - David

ok that worked -many thanks - i am unsure if i want to use that site now after the trouble it caused me - i will consider for a day before i do anything as it seems like the only website i have ever had trouble with and i don't want to lodge money with them and then have more problems -also the whaleshare system seems a bit dodgy to me , making people use the bitshares site and buy tokens - i can see benefits , but it seems like something i shouldnt get involved with --thanks again for your help

oh so it is right on the day .. ok i got that with other hangouts , thank you for sharing <"..">

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63572.52
ETH 3097.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88