You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: [WTF is JSON series] Ingestron -> Steemjson: Making STEEM a universal JSON-storage blockchain step by step

I enjoy learning how Steemit works under the covers. Until reading this I had no idea that blockchain data is represented in JSON format, but it seems like a very natural choice. It's such a universally useful format no matter what the exact application is. These days I see it even more than XML, and I personally find it more readable than XML as well. JSON is one of the fundamental formats used to represent data in financial systems too. In my job as a software engineer for a big bank, I use JSON to represent the properties of things like stocks, bonds, swaps, and other financial products. That format is also used to store data about said products in a database (MondoDB is built around the concept of storing data as JSON "documents").

Sort:  

I think this is the true genius behind STEEM. Technically speaking, STEEM can do anything that can be done with JSON, and I think you're catching the drift quite well:

If steem can do anything that can be done with JSON, then steem can do (almost) anything, because that's what is done with JSON these days: (almost) everything.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57642.15
ETH 2578.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49