Stupid Garage Grown Project 1 Part 1: Solar Powered Mini Mining Rig For $0 InvestmentsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #beyondbitcoin8 years ago (edited)

My two fellow mad scientists are away in college, one a materials chemistry major and the other a computer science major and I'm left behind bored with a garage full of electronics and no one to build with boo hoo.

As a result, here is part 1 of a little project today while the wife was out shopping, a solar powered mining android tablet.

I started out by assessing a couple of our cabinets for a project idea I could start quickly.

pwr cords bin

When I spotted a couple of our old broken android tablets sitting there doing nothing I decided a little solar mining project would be quick and easy for part 1.

I chose a least old android tablet, a 2-3 year old Lenova brand 4 Core/4 Thread. Also from the garage everything else I needed was "in stock":

1 12 volt 5 watt solar panel

1 12 volt 2 watt solar panel

1 cigarette lighter usb power adapter

1 cigarette lighter socket with leads, in this case clips

1 watt meter and power analyzer

1 12 volt 38 amp lead acid battery in an environment housing

And here we go: Step 1: Fire up the cracked tablet and load an android miner program on it. I prefer miner pro but for this trial I'm installing and using Minergate app. mining for Monero. Here's a crappy picture of the app running fine on the tablet:

Step 2: I wanted to measure the wattage draw by feeding the laptop which had a depleted battery in it from the 12 volt 5 watt solar panel thru my watt draw meter and into the USB power adapter.

So it's pulling around 1.3 watts with the screen off of course and no other apps running other than Minergate at 4 threads and Wifi turned on and connected. Even though it's only pulling 1.3 watts I'm concerned that my 5 watt solar panel will not be enough. The solar panel will produce up to 5 watts during the peak sun time of day and only when angled properly for it. Most of the day it will be producing less that 5 watts to run and recharge the 12 volt 38 amp battery. As a result, I can tackle this a few different ways from my garage stock.

 1) Deploy a couple of sun mirrors angled to the panel forcing it into overclock if you will, been there done that before.

2) Add our Dewalt 18 volt drill converted into a wind generator as an additional form of charging power. That would    require a solar & wind controller board XXX not in stock.

3) Bring out a big gun panel, one of four 12 volt 120 watt panels parked in the garage.

4) Add a supplemental 12 volt 2 watt panel and see how it goes.

Here's some pics starting with the battery:

Backside with pad now placed out of the sun:

It's generating very very little but I didn't expect more from a pad we should have thrown out already. Perhaps I'll point it to mine on nicehash and double my payouts, lol.

Both solar panels have a diode built in to prevent current reversing when the sun goes down but this is only Part 1: Establishing the basic layout.

If there's enough interest I will post my part 2 to the project which will be weather proofing and introducing a controller board I have for handling the battery charging properly.


Have a great Sunday all!

@bluehorseshoe


 

Sort:  

This is great! I've wondered about this, a zero additional cost mining solution. Do you have any idea of the efficiency vs. grid electricity, and also the efficiency of the energy conversion, assuming a grid electricity kWh unit price?

But one question... why are your large solar panels collecting dust?!

The panel would take a very very long time to pay for itself vs. the .12 per kw price I think we're paying where I'm at. Very good question of the panels collecting serious dust. My wife has been asking me the same question for quite some time since she knows I spent approx. $1,400 delivered for them. I bought them as a deployable power source in the event of a sustained outage(hurricane).
However, I do have a grid tie inverter if I ever wanted to have them mounted on the roof which would allow me to feed the power right into our power as a meter offset. The deployment box contains a solar controller board & a full wave sine inverter which converts my 12 volt battery to a clean 110ac.
Thanks for posting.

Of course, very very very long time indeed, just wondering what the ballpark figure might be.

Excellent purchase, on the large solar panels, if you set them up please do a post! I'd love to see how it goes.

Thank you very much. I'm happy there's been some interest and will finish this first project up and post next weekend. Today is quality time with the wifey day.

Thank you. What's embarrassing is it took me far longer to do this simple post then to do the project so far. I'm so slow at creating a post.
Thank you for posting.

Don't worry posts take a lot longer to put together than you would expect particularly when you are inserting photos to show what you are doing.

Great work man!
Look at the business I am promoting here:

-lifetime mining, solar powered;)
-German quality
-afiliate program
...maybe you like it?
greetings Flo

Thank you for posting, I love all projects solar or wind. Mother Earth's power supply.

how much do you withdraw and invested?
I don't see many good reviews!

check out that one the best mining kiking!
eobot
of course with pool and faucets everithing needed!
https://steemit.com/@eliowilson/new-mining-site-in-town

Hello @ elioWilson!
Here is an video overview , takes only 17 minutes!
A brief all-round explanation of Avalon-life!

Nice greetings from austria ;)

I know a way to increase the solar panels power check my last posts and the ones on concentrated solar power and the next coming follow! god job nice post! and there is also posts on battery on my blog ;)