How To Scavenge A Direct TV Receiver For Cryptocurrency Mining Parts

in #beyondbitcoin7 years ago (edited)

Well, I fired Direct TV after paying them approx. $200. per month for many years of service. As a result, I've inherited three DVRs that they don't want back so I might as well plunder them for parts. Each DVR has one 320 GB hard drive which I will install in our Burst coin mining PC that is already running.

The dents? I had it sitting by my trash area in the garage so I think my son and/or buddies decided to whack at it.

Step 1: Don't be intimidated by these five security screws holding the top one, a small flat head tweaker/screw driver will work just fine getting these out.


Step 2: Scavenge whatever you want. There are many easy removable components in here if you own a soldering iron which I do, I'm just not interested in them myself.

Step 3: My score is one fan, a 320 GB Green Hard Drive & HD cable. 

Step 4: For me will be installing the drives, formatting, plotting then mining burst coin with them.

All about burst coin here: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=731923.25320


Based on current mining difficulty I should be yielding approx. 364 Burst per month at a value of $5.78 per month. 

It won't change my standard of living but beats a sharp stick in the eye, right?

Or, use the drives for whatever your needs are.

Have a great week and if you benefited at all by my post I humbly ask for an upvote.


@bluehorseshoe




Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit :)
I follow u, follow me back if u want lot of fun and amazing picture every day.

If you follow me I will follow you back

Way to improvise.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63204.10
ETH 2560.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79