Day 150: 5 Minute Freewrite: Sunday-Prompt: Sizzling ~ Original Photography and Story About Cooking

in #bewarethegristlemissile7 years ago (edited)

P1580680-1 244kb.jpg

Careful - You Could Put An Eye Out With One Of Those Things



Five Minute Freewrite ~ Prompt: Sizzling


The huge, flat griddle was really sizzling. I scraped the flat spatula across the surface, and flipped one of the burgers in front of me.

Sszzzz…...KAPOW, Kzzziiiiiiinng!

The little round BB of fat whizzed past my bright, blue-billed hat, and ended up somewhere near the gleaning bins by the front, stainless counter. We never actually saw where these things finally ended up.

“Gristle Missile...?”

It was my good friend Danny, chopping some lettuce over by the Quesadilla bar.

I laughed, “about took my EYE out”!

He chuckled, and continued on, chopping some tomatoes for the next round of flat tortillas going out.

I went back to flipping the burgers on the griddle, all the while keeping a wary eye out for any other errant projectiles zipping away from the 'all-beef' patties.

The dreaded Gristle Missile. A little round, hard-as-a-stone BB of gristly fat, lodged deep in the meat of the beefy burgers. Launched at 1200 mph by the deep heat of the grill. A real danger, to anyone in the near vicinity of the fry grill.

What a job, cooking “in the full view” of the public, sitting out behind us in the restaurant beyond. My little dorky blue shirt and hat, making sure everyone knew I was cook number three at the Flakey Jakes, out on Highway 217 by the Mall.

~ Finto ~





Here is the link to the post about the Five Minute Freewrite, put on by @mariannewest:
Day 150: Five Minute Freewrite: Sizzling



Thanks for stopping in and viewing the next installment of the Five Minute Freewrite. If you have any thoughts about grilling dangerous patties, fatty missiles of eye-gouging destruction, being an on-display fry-cook, wearing really cool uniforms at work, or anything else this post reminds you of, please feel free to comment away in the spaces below. I'd love to hear from you.





Please UPVOTE, COMMENT and FOLLOW if you enjoy my works.

And go to @ddschteinn -- There's a whole lot more...

Posted: 03/18/2018 @ 18:40



P1050887-1 48kb no name.jpg


Excerpts From Late-Night Conversations With A Mechanical Cat

Fact Number 49

Five minute free write  - Gristle Missile SIZZLING  Cats leaping tall buildings in a bound.PNG

Sort:  

Great imagination and nice story! Your drawing is good, I do really like it! I myself love drawing, too. Well done! ;)

Thanks, glad you liked my pass down memory lane. The drawings are fun, glad you like to do it as well. You should use some for your posts. Even we people that can't draw worth beans, can still use them for the posts, when no photo is available. I like that idea.

You're welcome! Ah! I don't think it's a good idea for me to use my drawing in my posts because my drawing are not good..... In case, if no photo is available, I'll have to consider it, as you suggested... ;D

Mine aren't exactly high art either...it's the idea that counts. At least in my world ( :
Though you do seem to do well in the photo end of things, and have very interesting articles that go along with them. Plus, you can trace, if it's really needed O :

You always have great idea and excellent imagination on those drawing which I like very much. ;)

Ah! I'm really happy to hear that..... You make me smile widely now! ;D

Wow, is this late getting back. Glad you like the imaginary world, and that is makes you smile widely. That is important. Have a most wondrous day today.

And WOW! You can find my comment.... Ha ha! Have a pleasant day, GFF! ;)

Sometimes they get buried, but looking way back helps. I just cruise my replies, as I often don't get to them for days. Mr. Slow here. But sincere ( :

I hate being hit by those! lol

Hazardous occupation, this cooking business ( :

I really liked reading this, I imagine that missile hahaha are very fast, many times you can not see them until they hit you

Glad you enjoyed the little romp back through the cook-kitchen of craziness. They are REALLY fast. Never did see them coming, though you did hear them 'blow out' of the burger. At least I never lost an eye...but might have come close ( :
Are you familiar with these things?...since you are a true chef?

It would be horrible to lose an eye you have to be very careful, but if I have experience in these things I study for cheff and I spend it cooking I love cooking so I tell you those missiles are very fast, by the way last night I made a hamburger pizza for the sandwich contest so I understand you perfectly about the missiles and the hamburger

grill-sandwiches.jpg

Whenever, there is a story about a huge, flat griddle. SOmething good is about to happen. I really prefer home-made to dining out. Keep the tasty treats rolling out from the kitchen. Thanks

I agree, home cooking is the best. And the cheapest. Griddlin' is good too, especially sandwiches. Thanks for stopping in for a view.

It's like the cooking version of paint-ball ;-)

Ha haaa, so true. Though all they left was a small, greasy stain. But they would actually hurt if they hit you 'wrong'. One of the hazards of the fry cook, I guess.

aahah. there was never any meatballs exploded :)
this is a very funny story !!: D
continue writing.
I like!

Thanks, I hope you never do have any meatballs blow up, could be very exciting. I shall continue on with the writing, it keeps me off the streets ( :

My respect for the burgers cooks is increased. How many casualties they suffered in their ranks, for the never satisfied gluttony of their paying torturers?
The splashes of fat on their uniform are like medals for alimentary valor! Off the hats, up the spatulas! Hail to the burger heroes! :D

I'm here, as well as writing nonsense, for delivering to you the next freewrite prompt:
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-151-5-minute-freewrite-monday-prompt-medium
Enjoy!

Thanks and as far as I'm concerned, nonsense and humor make the world go round. I still have my shirt somewhere, probably has the stains of battle still ( :

Long before the Chinese invented gunpowder, and then the Europeans came over and put it into guns, early tribes would go to war with each other by inviting enemies over for a barbecue and berating them to next to a grill while flipping slabs of mammoth meat in a careless and laissez faire fashion. It's a form of warfare the Geneva Convention would never let proceed, today.

Of course, this had the side effect of taking out the aggressor as often as the target. (Which was also the case with some of the first blunderbusses.) And sometimes, neither party would fall. Then there was nothing left to do but have dinner together in a grumbling, reluctant manner.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65353.52
ETH 2654.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84