She’s Practically Identical To The Doll: Woman Spends $35K To Transform Herself Into A “Real-Life Barbie”

in #beuty7 years ago

 For a lot of adults, Barbie was a huge part of their childhood growing up. The famous doll has been around for decades, making her way into the homes of millions. While most of us eventually grew out of toys as we got older, some people refused to let go of their favorite childhood dolls and held onto them well into adulthood. Here, one woman became so obsessed with her Barbie, that she inevitably ended up transforming into her, spending thousands to get dozens of surgeries to make her look identical. 

 Goth. Growing up, Ophelia Vanity was completely different from the person she is today. She was what you would consider “goth," dressing in all black and sporting multiple piercings. But as she got older, Ophelia realized she was a completely different person. 

 Transformation. At 30 years old, Ophelia has transformed almost entirely into a Barbie doll. From the way she dresses, to the way she looks, Ophelia’s looks are uncanny. But it hasn’t been easy getting there. Over the last several years, Ophelia has spent $35,000 on surgeries and procedures to make her look like the doll. 

 Iconic. ”I’ve always been into Barbie. As a kid, I'd get a doll every Christmas or birthday. I had a dozen or so and would play with them all the time. 'I loved her aesthetic, and as I got older, I decided I wanted to emulate her. She's such an iconic character,” said Ophelia, as reported by the Daily Mail UK. 

 Addiction. Her addiction to looking like Barbie started in 2009, when Ophelia first decided to get Botox injections. Fascinated by the way the injections made her look, Ophelia continued to get them. Eventually, she went from Botox injections to lip fillers, and has now also gotten a nose job and dyed her hair bleach blonde. 

 Change. ”Even when I had black hair, people would say I looked doll-like. I think it's my eyes, which are naturally large. But I wanted a change, so decided to go fully blonde. Now, I have my hair bleached every two months,” said Ophelia, as reported by the Daily Mail UK. 

 More surgeries. But despite the dramatic change in her appearance, Ophelia says she still isn’t satisfied with her looks, and is planning a handful of other surgeries, with the most extreme being that she wants to get some of her ribs removed. Ophelia also plans on getting breast and butt implants, but says she’s still looking for the right doctor to perform the procedure. 

 Implants. “I’d love breast and butt implants, but I need to save money and make sure I find the right doctor. I'd also love either four or six ribs removed, like Pixie Foxx, a model who had the surgery a little while ago. I wouldn't go quite as extreme as her, but aesthetically, she's an inspiration,” Ophelia told the Daily Mail UK. 

 Appearance. Ophelia’s transformation doesn’t just stop at the surgeries however. She also spends up to three hours putting on makeup, which includes the contact lenses that give her eyes the appearance that they’re much bigger. She also wears a corset in order to give her an hourglass figure. 

 Attention. ”I don't go full Barbie every day. If I'm just popping to the shops, I won't wear any makeup. But when I'm fully dressed up, which I do if I'm going to events or parties, I do get stopped and recognized on the streets of Hollywood. People are usually really positive, and want to talk to me or take pictures,” said Ophelia, as reported by the Daily Mail UK. 

 Dating. Unsurprisingly, Ophelia’s favorite color to dress in is pink, a major difference from the all black wardrobe she once owned. So does she have plans to find the Ken to her Barbie? Yes, but in a more traditional sense. Ophelia says she steers clear of dating apps and says she’d rather meet people in real life. 

 Social media. Ophelia says she’s had bad experience in the past, with men refusing to date her because of her obsession with Barbie. But when meeting them in person, Ophelia says she’s being upfront about her looks. And speaking of apps, Ophelia has a large following on Instagram, but like most well-known social media users, Ophelia has to deal with her fair share of bullying from time to time. 

 Cyberbullying. ”There is a lot of cyberbullying out there. I've been called ugly or had people say I'm delusional for wanting to look like Barbie. 'I'm not hurting anyone, though. I know I shouldn't put too much into these people hiding behind a screen, but I'm still human so it does hurt. I always ignore them. I know they just want a rise. If they really hated me, they'd look away,” says Ophelia, as reported by the Daily Mail UK. 

 Modeling. Regardless of the bullies, Ophelia has thousands of fans that love her just the way she is. Ophelia is currently a model living in Los Angeles, which is how she gets money to pay for all of her surgeries. 

 Be yourself. No matter what people say, Ophelia will continue to dress however she wants to, and whether or not you agree with her lifestyle, we can all learn from her that it’s important to be yourself, no matter what anyone says. 

 You. What do you think about this woman’s Barbie obsession? Do you know anyone who has an extreme obsession like hers? Would you ever consider some of the surgeries she's had or is going to have? Make sure you share your thoughts with us in the comments section below. 

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66466.45
ETH 3595.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.90