It's the Little Things...

Like...

Going into Best Buy and setting a few computers to Steemit.com and making it the homepage if possible.

Paying with a credit card at a restaurant, leaving a cash tip, and then writing Steemit.com on the receipt.

Telling your Comcast repairman, who you never met before, that he should get his mixed martial arts blog on Steemit.

Steemit stickers on your water bottle.

The "well, this is what I've been up to" part of your conversations.

Checklist:

Emit positivity.  Foster curiosity.  Bring awareness to what we're doing.

Get creative.  You don't need to spend crazy money to advertise this site.  Steemit's model sells itself.  It's about overcoming people's skepticism of something new and different that they don't understand.

Plant the seeds, bear with them.  It may take time.  Talk through their concerns.  Find out what they need to know.  If you don't have an answer, reach out to people.  We're all in this together.

Forget the money.  This is so much bigger than that.  We're a part of something the world has never seen before.  This isn't about just about financially incentivized blogging.

Reasons:

Maybe you're new to cryptocurrencies and don't know what a blockchain is.  That's fine.  But what you see here at Steemit is only the beginning of what we're capable of with this technology.

We are disrupting the world, faster than anyone can stop us.  And the world needs a good disrupting.  

If you can see that we are the tip of a very large iceberg and the old world is the Titanic, then you are at the right place, my friend.


@derekareith

Sort:  

Great advice! I put Steemit on the computers in my break room, and it's started some conversations. You listed some great ways to spread the knowledge. Let's get it done!

Heck yea Tao! I got my IBeLink cranking in the basement btw. How about this Dash pump!?! I thought everyone said ASICs were gonna kill Dash? Huh, that's funny! :)

BTW, I haven't reached out yet, but you really are a great asset to the Dash community. Thanks for all you do!

Thank you, my friend! I think that Dash's incentive model is finally starting to be recognized and paying dividends. Also, I've been hearing more and more from newcomers that the Dash community is the most professional and welcoming in crypto right now. Comments like that mean a lot to me, as a community builder. Cheers!

Yeah @derekareith we are the iceberg. :-)

Telling your Comcast repairman, who you never met before, that he should get his mixed martial arts blog on Steemit.

Really laughed lol. Great post and great ideas.
Now vote for my steemit blimp post....

These are all real stories, btw. I hope he signs up soon.

Oh... I worked for them for three years. I totally believe you! lol

I just spent three minutes looking for a blimp post and got handed off to a bunch of other posts. Now I believe you worked for Comcast XD

I'm going to have to do that next time I'm at Best Buy. I've already explained Steemit to people at work and to my parents. Some people have been skeptical, some have been approving, and my parents took a "wait and see approach." lol It is about planting seeds and fostering curiosity though!

How about distributing steemit business cards at Internet cafes? If so, does anyone have an idea on what to write on this business card? Perhaps @derekareith image above with the titanic and the iceberg?

Love it! I made a post a while back that's a PDF of some handouts I made. They've been pretty helpful for me, but maybe a little too information dense for a quick glance type of thing. Business cards are perfect! I'm gonna work on this some more tomorrow and let you know what I come up with. If I come up with any good ones I'll show how I'll get them made, just like Steemit Zippo lighter, so anyone can make them. I'll probably have a bunch to go with our stickers that I can give away in person and to people on the site that want a few. Thanks for the great idea!

Well said Derek! I've already been hard at work trying to get people I know involved. Just a matter of "wait and see". I was even giving a brief explanation of it to my neighbor upstairs from me, and he seemed to take a little interest in it. Maybe another conversation ot two with him and he might be getting on board as well! :D

Shows you how this will spread like wildfire. Pretty soon we have non-crypto people around the world pushing crypto-projects without even realizing it. Pffff and they said achieving an anarchic society was impossible. This is our vehicle to freedom, my friend!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67594.88
ETH 3781.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64