My Favorite Christmas Present of All Time: 1970s Mattel Vertibird Helicopter Rescue Set

in #bestgift6 years ago (edited)

Hello all, in response to My Favorite Christmas Present of All Time contest being ran by @dadview, I am submitting my favorite gift.

It was handed to me by (The Real) Santa, in person, at my aunt's house! I suppose that I was about 6 years old and I was thrilled to get It!! It's a Mattel Helicopter Rescue Set, the Mattel Vertibird.

27668057.jpg

I know that nowadays it may seem pretty lame, but in the early 70s this thing was a brand new idea!

vertibird.jpg

You could actually make the chopper do anything that you wanted it to do...hoover, reverse, up, down, fast or slow.

CF_Vertibird.jpg

sd000611-vtg-1971-mattel-vertibird-flying-helicopter-copter-toy-5972-new-in-open-box-5.jpg

It came with little people that were just begging to be rescued and you could hook them on a fly by, then carefully drop them off on a rooftop, safe from danger!

With 2 D batteries (not included - because they never were back then) young @jbcoin would be off on hours and hours of adventures....until those cheap silver, non-alkaline batteries gave out lol. Saving burn victims and preventing untold catastrophes, just in the nick of time.

Once again...Vertibird saves the day!

Please upvote, follow and Resteem.

Check out the posts from @dadview and enter the contest for yourself here:

https://steemit.com/contest/@dadview/10-steem-givaway-my-favorite-christmas-present-of-all-time-what-s-yours

U5dr61qgo3LQQKgjUH2XXMso4x6Xd7a_1680x8400.png

Sort:  

Looks pretty cool! Great entry!

Thanks @skye1. I was torn between choosing this toy and my Close and Play record player that I got the next year for Christmas. I'd probably still use one of those today haha.

I have never seen one of these. I can guarantee that I would have loved it!
Although there is a good chance that I would have broken it...

They made a remake of it in the mid 1990s and I bought one, just to play with lol.

I started getting strange looks when friends came over to visit, so my wife made me give it away, to someone a little younger. 😕

I remember seeing this in my mums Kays catalogue :)

Yeah, it was a blast. I really didn't expect to get it, since we had very little money for Christmas as a kid. I think my aunt "helped out" that year 😉

Those were the best of days i think :)

Classic toy there bud! I remember one of the next door kids having on. It was a big deal to own one! :)

Lol...just before Atari took over the entire kid market

Oh yes I remember those days as well!

Awesome! I still love toys, even at the lovely age of 43. I'll never forget the Christmas I woke my mom up at 4am because Santa had left me a Walkman. :D

Nice...good memories 😁

Wow great peesent i like it so much ...god bless u dear...i like your post and ypour pe
Pesent

Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66222.23
ETH 3563.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.10