Making do with a tripod

in #bescouted6 years ago

I found that a key aspect to travelling long term and moving around a country throughout that time means that what you pack and more importantly how much you pack is essential. This is due to the simply fact that whatever you pack is what you have to carry and lag around place to place from airport to airport, to bus to bus, etc.

This means that you have to be smart and only take what you are going to have to actually need and/or be willing lose as well, as you could lose it or have to destroyed, which is just a basic concept that may occur when you do explore abroad. Hence, I didn't have my tripod when attempting to take long exposure photos, which does in fact make life a tad difficult. This is the fun part of being creative and imaginative when attempting long exposure photos, as the camera needs to be completely still or it will quite easily become very blurry, which is not what I was wanting. So, what do you do?


You do your best to find any kind of surface that will make a good replacement for a tripod. Hence, this different angle as I used the corner or a grate and the ground the prop my camera up in an attempt to catch this shot. All things considering I think it turned out not too badly - at least a lot better than what I was expecting.


IMG_1836.jpg
Click image to view full size


Thanks for reading and all the support, Steemit!!

Dont forget to Upvote & Resteem!!!

All stories & photographs are of my own work unless noted under the picture in question.

For more stories and photos check out my Instagram feed

Check out my website - Just BCOZ Photography

Sort:  

This is due to the simply fact that whatever you pack is what you have to carry and lag around

Amen! I'm a big fan of ultralight travel. I encourage you to make a packing list with the weight of every item you take using https://lighterpack.com.

For example, see my packing list for my 10-day trip to California.

Thanks for the advice! I will check out the links you posted!

The remote clicker is actually more critical than the tripod. Being able to snap the photo without jerking the camera is critical for taking pictures at dusk. If you don't have the clicker, you can take the pictures with the camera's timer.

Thanks for the advice - I didn't think of using the timer... next time I will be giving it a go or I will spend the money on a remote clicker

Colombia, Colombia beautiful Colombia I love that you are knowing my beautiful South America

It really is a beautiful country and I will be spending more of my time exploring more areas of South America in the near future - as well as improving my spanish. Hopefully, Venezuela one sometime soon too!!

Very beautiful shot, love the colors and the lights so much!

Thanks! It is quite a beautiful area of Manizales to explore! Have you ever been?

I've never been in Manizales, I've visit to other parts of Colombia but not in that specific one. It looks very nice I would like to go one day

put it on the list! 😉

My tripod is definitely the heaviest thing I take when I travel. It keeps my bag pretty much right at the 50 pound limit that you can have for checked luggage, but I use it a lot and find it worth carrying around. I'm about four months into my current trip and haven't gotten tired of dragging it around yet.

Thats the observation tower in Manizales, if I'm not mistaken. Love the colors on it. I was disappointed to see Colombia lose today. 😞

Good to know - I might consider dragging one around myself next time. You are correct! It is a beautiful little area of Manizales. I was sorry to see them lose too - I had to get up at 645am in time to watch them game

6:45, now that is dedicated. I was on a bus so I missed the whole game.

Great photo! Thank you for good advice, use a tripod for taking photos.

Cool post, cool picture of the photo really worked out perfectly
Let's keep my regards and keep my fingers crossed

Thanks a heap! I appreciate the support

Very cool shot @thomasjmitchell. I always try to keep a tripod nearby... I have a few small ones that are collapsible. Never know when it will be handy :)

Thanks! yeah, I do need to invest in a more travel handy sized tripod for that reason.

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-06-19T17:57:48
Account Level: 3
Total XP: 725.43/800.00
Total Photos: 95
Total comments: 11
Total contest wins: 4
And have also received a 1.20 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Why would you use a tripod?
Their long central length amplifies any vibration caused by the camera screen and mirror, twist, or by the picture taker themselves. ... When utilizing a shade speed slower than this straightforward dependable guideline recommends, a tripod is all together. A decent tripod will help enduring your camera and guarantee sharp pictures.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63896.48
ETH 3315.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.92