BACKLANE SERENADE

in #bescouted6 years ago (edited)

bescouted_photo.jpg

graphite drawing on Arches etching paper - 1986

right-click images, select open in new tab to view large size
Details:

BACKLANE SERENADE 002-detail3.jpg

BACKLANE SERENADE 002-detail1web.jpg

BACKLANE SERENADE 002-detail2web.jpg




bescouted.gif

Sort:  

He reminds me of a faun, playing his flute to seduce a timid damsel... in fact there was an older painting that came to mind, and I had to look it up in google: it's Merse's Faun & Nymph:

But instead of a romantic forest, we have a forlorn back lane in some seedy part of the town. Maybe with his art, with the tune of his flute, the artist is trying to open new routes to escape the hardships -- a stairway out of the painful reality!

Arik Brauer is a multi-talent, not just a painter. He plays several instruments, sings and was a dancer, sometimes with his sister Lena Brauer( link from my VAG website).
The seedy back lane is from a photo I took in Lethbridge, Canada. Other parts are details from a front street facade, same place, and some details from a Rudolf Hausner lithograph. The other part is a detail I call "Behind the 8-Ball", influenced by Franz Xaver Messerschmidt

LOVE IT!!!!

thanks Carolinchen! I am tempted to paint this some time, since I really miss it, and the original was stolen!
Hugs und Bussal 😘

I had the same experince more than one time :-( Many Kisses

With me, it was mostly just one person. A bad time in my life. Not just this one drawing, but several works. Only once before was something stolen by a stranger. It was at a exhibition in Calgary, and had been written up in the paper. Someone read the article and gave the police a tip. They found my work, and I actually got a lot of publicity because of it.

This is woow, no words..
Her world and his..
Except I will leave all my up vote power today at your posts :)

thank you - much appreciated!
This is the Austrian Painter Arik Brauer and his wife Naomi. You are following @gric : he was in Brauer's Masterclass.
The drawing is decades old - and unfortunately it got ripped off in the early nineties. The images may look fine here, but not good enough for printing. I wish I had a good scan. I am almost thinking I should paint it!

Well, you should paint it since it's great work and should be kept. Also who knows what will happen when you start new-old one from this time distance...Hope you will do this one again :)

so much to choose from - yes, this is high on my list. I really miss it - it belongs to a tribute cycle about the Vienna School of Fantastic Realism. And you are right, you either know me well or you can read minds: I cannot just "reproduce" something I had created before - like painting clown faces all my life - but a new project has to have a component of discovery that keeps me interested. Without that, I get bored and seemingly my skills deteriorate.

Unique style of drawing . Upvote and followed

This is a fun drawing!

this is very lovely and creative! love the detail shots, as well <3

upvotes

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63855.79
ETH 3113.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.04