I am a women and I am more than a name

in #bescouted7 years ago (edited)

17038823_1758191864206987_6716288911621413694_o (1).jpg

I am born like you,
to be a part of the family which will never remain mine for forever.
I want to play like you,
but people constantly reminds me to take interest in household chores.
I want to study like you,
but people cannot see the importance of my education.
When I ask for a bright future, they want to get me married to the guy of their choice.
I am always given to a different family with dowry.
My fate and destiny are always decided by others.
People always teach me how should I behave.
There are set code of conduct and protocols for me to follow.
If I will follow them then I am good and If I fail to do so I will be cursed and taunted for being rebellious.
I play an important role in your life,
but then also I am not looked more than an object,
who cannot protest about any subject.
My roles and duties are defined,
to play the role of ideal daughter to ideal wife,
In between I have to be the obedient daughter in Law,
who is looked always down for not being the good mother.
I am a female who is always expected to bore a male child.
Throughout my life, I don't receive love,
but I am considered as an epitome of love,
My wishes, dreams, opinions and desires are strangled,
If you are the head of the family
then I am base which holds people together,
I cook food, wash, clean and give your home a new life,
but still I am not your dearest wife,
I give you child who continue the legacy of your family,
I am the verb of your noun,
but then also I am stripped, raped and defamed every time,
I am pushed to the darkness and people forget my name,
I am not an entity, I am the essential part of survival,
given a change I can do wonders,
let me live the beautiful life because I am a women and my identity is more than my name.

Sort:  

wow wonderful definition for WOMAN 💚

aww...the women power.... )

In many societies, women are relegated to the background. And women are the ones that do a lot of work to build a home.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @nimik to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

wow, woman is precious gift to the world..upvoted

True, so my poem is dedicated to all the women.

Lake palace! And good poem.

great post, nimik as usual!

I honestly don't know much about woman, womanhood and struggle a woman go through. But thats pretty descriptive poem.

Looking beautiful

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61986.52
ETH 2406.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65