Penalty Box / Self-Containment

in #bescouted6 years ago

Penalty Box

Click image to enlarge.

I created this photograph in February 2016, after months of deliberate self-reflection on my life, and upon which themes and messages I wanted to bring forward through my work. In 2015, one of my professors told me that, if I were going to create surrealistic photography, I ought to avoid the tropes of the typical composite and Photoshop work seen in contemporary photography today. Taking her advice, I decided to investigate what was possible through the straight photograph alone.

Although fairly simple compared to the complex illusions I'm beginning to create today, this photograph captured the essence of my issues with self-identity, self-imposed boundaries, and the impact of my worldview on my daily life and perception of reality. I drew a simple anamorphic illusion of a box, using a piece of chalk, which I then held in my hand while I posed for this self-portrait.

This photograph has been the most important artwork in my artistic career thus far. Not only marking a definitive moment in the direction of my artistic practice, spearheading an ongoing project based on perspective illusions and practical effects, this piece showed me the power and potential of art. I watched this photograph go viral in numerous Internet communities in Europe and even the Middle East, with people from different viewpoints superimposing words about their ideologies onto the image. It has been an honor to have this work globally recognized, and humbling to watch as the piece took on a life of its own. It is incredible how art can deliver a valuable message while transcending ideological, geopolitical, and religious boundaries.



Follow my creative journey on Instagram!



Best regards,
John Dykstra
Sort:  

Wow... that's a very powerful image; not only a great composition, but it gives us something to think about; to consider the implications of the message.

I was hoping you would post this one separately, so I could resteem it 8-). As I have said before, I'm not much into arranged or posed photography, but this is the Good Stuff.

It's a shame curating is so slack, this deserves more attention.

Thank you!! It's quite alright, I'm just glad to finally have this up for future followers to see.

This is beautiful! Love the idea and execution. So simple yet powerful.

Thank you, Seth!

OMG I loove this image. I think it's the top of my favorites. I've Seen it on Instagram and every now and then I look at it. It's absolutely mind blowing :) I'm definitely following you & I'll resteem this on just for safe keeping ha ha

Aw, Raoul! I love hearing that :D Thanks, man!

Haha my pleasure! Keep on inspiring! :)

This is an amazing work that deserves more recognition here. I can see how much effort and skill has been poured into it :D I like everything about it from a technical standpoint of view.

However I'm not too big on attributing insightful meaning to photographs. It's not a criticism, it's just that I must be broken in some way or simply lack that "giving deep meaning" ability altogether. I admire photography from a viewpoint of color, contrast, composition...

Now, the reason why I mentioned it is I wanted to ask you something. In your article you write:

...with people from different viewpoints superimposing words about their ideologies onto the image.
... It is incredible how art can deliver a valuable message while transcending ideological, geopolitical, and religious boundaries.

My question is - have you ever seen your photograph being used to promote something you strongly disagree with - be it an ideology or a trolly propaganda?

Thanks, Cat. I understand that everyone responds differently to different things.

I've never had anyone promote something I strongly disagree with through my photograph, at least so far as I know. My favorite has been a quote by Rumi: "One of the marvels of the world is the sight of a soul sitting in prison with the key in its hand." Probably the most questionable was: "This is what you look like as a white suprematist." I definitely do not want to be connected with an evil ideology! But in either case, they both acknowledged the vision of a man drawing himself into a box.

Very creative! Resteemed!

Very good pic mu friend! Congratulations! (;

So awesome @johndykstra. I resteemed it on my account here @the189. Keep up the good work man :)

It's an honor, Mark, thank you. :)

That's a really cool shot. Great concept and imagery.

Really awesome image. Thanks for sharing it here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66931.79
ETH 3249.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10