The Whale: Adding to my Bescouted collection.

in #bescouted7 years ago (edited)

bescouted_photo.jpg

This piece was done for a surreal challenge. My work often borders the absurd or sometimes happily lives in the domain of Whimsy, so this felt a direction I could happily travel.

The piece, in it's surreal aspects, begs the viewer to wonder at the female figure. Is she holding on, possibly saved by the passing flying whale from a sinking boat which is, in a surreal fashion, also an upturned umbrella? Or, perhaps, she is not at sea but upon the hard surface of some reality poking at a passing whale, aloft in the clouds? Or could it be still the whale is swimming upside in the sea pulling under the figure who is in the water because her umbrella boat is capsized and we are merely viewing the scene upside down?

The piece began as a sketch in charcoal and pencil and then was scanned. I used digital oil and oil pastel and a bit of chalk to make the final image.

I think of the words of the old song sung by Ella Fitzgerald: All alone, all at sea...

I hope your day is filled with surreal dreams of candy floss skies.


asteemitfooter.jpg

bescouted.gif

Sort:  

Absolutely loved this from the first moment I saw it! The colors are beautiful and I like how you play with the "elements": Having the whale swim through the air... the figure is convincingly real and I like, how you create that rhythm, by repeating her in the umbrella/sail to the right.

Thank you so much @reinhard-schmid I don't know why I am just now seeing this comment. I really appreciate your good opinion, as your work is so breath-taking, thank you kindly.

Thank you and I just listened to your band, wonderful music!

aww .. I love such abstract and surreal work!
you are a dancer with really good ideas! I will be happy to follow you!

That soft fee to the images certainly looks surrealistic. Amazing work Donna.

Thank you so much. I am excited to be starting to collect up my works on Bescouted. I realize I have put myself under the heading of Photography, as I didn't see artist. Should I have done designer maybe instead?

You do beautiful work. Looks to me like she’s being rescued, pulled up out of the water by the whale.🐓

Good, you see the happy choice! :) That's how I saw it as I was creating it.

Very imaginative I love the creative ideas you come up with in your paintings!

Thank you, far to much time alone to imagine the bizarre, maybe ;)

I love your choice of colors, Donna! If you have do an art exhibition and we are on the same side of the world let me know!

You just got a vote from Sndbox-Alpha! For more information, click here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64605.20
ETH 3168.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53