Sophie in the warm Winter sun: A painting of Light.

in #bescouted7 years ago (edited)

bescouted_photo.jpg

Hoping to continue to add to my Bescouted collection, I am sharing the painting I did for a Steemit challenge whose object was LIGHT. My aim was to show the stark contrast of light and dark.

This painting is of my beloved Italian Greyhound Sophie. We lost her just before this past Christmas 2017 and she was a darling. She had lived a long full 20 year life. Leaving behind her darling 'husband' Monty, the little black Chihuahua. He still wanders the house, sometimes, looking for his lost love.

This was done with a pencil sketch scanned and then using digital oils and oil pastels. I wanted to draw the warm oranges of the chair into the glow of Sophie in the transparency of her thin velvet ears and the smooth glow of her coat. and ground her in the piece with the warm honey tones of her caramel fur and warm pine wood floors. I think the piece was successful.

I tend to use a lot of colour in my work and very rarely do I use dark colours like black, going more for purples and blues to represent shadow and depth. However, this is the second piece I have done using dark shadow and I fell I have a few more in me.

I hope you enjoy looking at it as much as I enjoyed making it. And here is to you, dear Sophie, may your light shine upon us forever.


asteemitfooter.jpg
bescouted.gif

Sort:  

Hi Donna, I really love the luminosity you've captured here. Especially with the more intense colors at the junction between light and dark values. That's just the way to do it. Great job! Upvoted and I'm resteeming this.

Thank you so kindly and thank you for noticing the use of intensity between the light and dark junction. One tries.

This is beautiful and a wonderful tribute to Sophie.

Thanks, she was our lil sweet baby :)

Looks like actual oil on canvas, great done @donnadavisart!

Thank you, this is why I love digital. It almost feels real as you paint and you can mix your colours add more turp or oil use different brushes, I am increasingly amazed by digital. Sometimes when I am drawing with it or inking, I forget it;s not real and go to brush something off the screen or smudge a line with my actual finger.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62836.52
ETH 2558.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72