I must get back into a proper studio soon

in #bescouted7 years ago

I recently stumbled across some studio shots from a few years ago and it really reminded me how much I miss having a proper studio space to work in.

These are from a shoot a shoot with a stunning model with a very unique look, Elana.

Thing that struck me about these was the way the modifiers cast light on the model. I still own all the same lights and modifiers I had back then, but what I don't have is the space to effectively get the most from them. Its a benefit of studio's thats not often mentioned.... they're big. That might sound like I'm stating the obvious but with space comes the option to put lights exactly where you need them, position the subject a reasonable distance from the backdrop (if needed) and just generally structure the lighting, position of the model and yourself exactly how you'd like without compromise. There's a lot of benefit to having those options.

I have a small studio space that I work in these days that certainly gets the job done. Theres a certain look from these I think I'd struggle to get though with my current studio space though.

Shot on my Nikon D810, with Sigma 85mm f1.4 lens

Click to enlarge

04.jpg

Click to enlarge

02.jpg

Click to enlarge

03.jpg

Sort:  

Great photos, as always!
Have you thought about doing more on-location photo shoots? It's great to make use of surroundings and background as well - the cumbersome light setup is a bit of a downside though. (It usually takes me 1 hour or so to set up everything on location and have it exactly as I want it.)
Having a studio with lights and big modifiers already in place is also much more convenient...

To be honest I much prefer location shoots. Unfortunately the winter months in Ireland aren't exactly pleasant to shoot outside, so most photographers I know (myself included) shoot more studio work this time of year. You cant beat a nice location though.

I feel your pain. I shoot in my living room and just moving the furniture out of the way takes an hour. The narrow space generally means no rim or hair lights, and the key can only be positioed by turning the model into the correct pattern. But to be honest, I wouldn't be able to tell if you hadn't shot an image in a studio or not unless you specified it. Then I'd just pretend I could tell the difference ;)

Haha totally get you. There's a lot you can in a smaller space. My little home studio I shoot in now is tiny as far as studios go but can still get the job done. I just remember with the shoot above it being so nice positioning the lights exactly where I needed, not having to worry about light spill, getting a good distance from the backdrop. It just made the shoot and retouching flow a lot easier.

I feel you. We shoot a lot of stuff in our home studio and would love to not have to rearrange furniture each time. Getting full body shots is always a nice to have as well. But then again, if we all had the studio of our dreams, we wouldn't have anything more to aspire to!

Haha that's very true. It probably does us all good having something to aim for.

Class photos as usual, lovely job! That's actually the very first model I've shot with back in 2013 with @condra.

Cheers dude, shes a great model alright. Not sure if shes still modelling but would love to shoot with her again.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62667.39
ETH 2432.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66