Why you have to visit Berlin

in #berlin6 years ago

Almost two weeks ago, I left Nürnberg for Berlin. I checked into my hostel around 5:00PM that evening. The train was pleasant. I got a window seat in the end and felt content. I didn't reserve a seat but managed to grab one after a few stops. I am using a Deutsche Bahn 5-day pass to travel around Germany.

My hostel room in Berlin is hot and cramped, despite the high ceilings and large windows. It is about 30 degrees outside. The windows hardly open, and Berlin isn't designed for hot weather. To my annoyance, someone is asleep as I enter the room to unpack.

The hostel does have a cool lobby area, however. And after asking the hostel reception where to get a great kebab, I head out. By the way, I am in Lübecker Straße, and I'm staying at the Wallyard Hostel in Moabit. The streets are large and lined with oaks. I feel that I am in a big city like London but the streets are quieter.

I find Food Point bei Ali, a turkish kebab shop. When ordering a kebab in Germany they are are called a Dürüm Gemüse. Ali's kebab was delicious. Things were on the up. I decided to head out for a drink in East Berlin that evening, it is Saturday so why not. I find my way to Turmstraße station and head to Warschauer Straße on the U-Bahn. But that's a story for another post.

Below are some pictures of my first evening in Berlin, and where I grabbed a kebab around Birkenstraße, Moabit on the 21/07/2018

P1050136.JPG

P1050148.JPG

P1050152.JPG

P1050140.JPG

If you like posts about travelling check out my other recent posts from this week:

Is Budapest worth visiting?

Five things to know before visiting Poland

An Australian Experiences Europe

Opinion: Just Another Terrorist Attack

Sort:  

When you are in Berlin you should definitely check out the bar "Klunkerkranich" which is located on the roof of the Neukölln Arcaden. You have an amazing view over the whole city and the style of the bar is reflects Berlin perfectly .

Thanks for the advice on 'Klunkerkranich', somewhere I will check out next time I'm there. Sounds mint.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99