Five years

in #bereavement7 years ago

It's five years since my father died. It wasn't an easy death. It was painful to witness and even more painful to endure, I'm sure. I posted this image on that day. They are hearts I made at a workshop a few weeks before he died and they appeared on the internet on the day he died, posted by the workshop organiser.

There's something poignant in there about broken pieces of broken hearts being put back together but I can't quite find the words. I didn't know when I posted this how poignant the image would be to me today.

It has been quite the journey since that time. I had no idea what impact the loss of one man would have on my life. I still miss him, of course. And I think of him often. But the excruciating pain from grieving reduces over time as you learn to live with it. And the broken pieces of my heart are growing back together in a way I am happy with and through all of that, I have found some contentment that I didn't have before that time. A contentment I couldn't have imagined at the time.

Those hearts are still lying incomplete in my craft stash. It's time to finish them.

Thinking of you, Dad.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63396.80
ETH 2615.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.86