You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: CAN BELGIUM AIM HIGH AT THE WORLD CUP?

in #bensteemit7 years ago

They do have a great squad, don't they? On paper, you'd like to think they should reach the quarter finals / semi finals at a minimum. But there's so many variables, isn't there? So many unknowns.

I don't know which makes things harder, never having won a major trophy (Belgium) or having won one once, a long time ago (England, for example). I know the British press will do everything they can to unsettle the English preparations but that's the way they are. I hope the Belgian press get behind their squad.

So, yeah, they should aim high. I just doubt they'll get anywhere near the final. Though I would like to see them do well.

Sort:  

Hazard said he was aiming for the final, so he shouldn't be surprised if the press puts pressure on him. But people are pretty cool with the team, not too much pressure.

England often disappoints, I hope it's the right year for them :)

There's certainly no harm in aiming for the final. Personally, I don't see the point in entering a competition unless you intend to have a real go at winning it (but then again, lots just enjoy a chance to participate in a world cup and don't have massive expectations, understandably). So, he's certainly got the right attitude. He's a top quality player too (as are many of his team mates). Brazil, Germany and Spain are always going to be bigger favourites with the bookies than them, though, aren't they? And for good reason.

At least for England, we have a great blend of class players without the dumb Gerrard / Lampard ego debate this time around for a nice change. So we should do a lot better than we did last time out (though as that was our worst ever world cup in many ways, that will hardly be difficult to beat!).

I think we all are praying for the injury situation to be kind to our respective teams, now.

I have no idea how the thing will pan out. I doubt I'll even think of my fantasy football planning until May.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68164.82
ETH 2641.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70