Benevolence

in #benevolence4 years ago

The reason why any one refuses assent to your benevolent design, is in you: he refuses to accept you as a bringer of truth, because, though you think you have it, he feels that you have it not. You have not given him the authentic sign.

From New England Reformers, by Ralph Waldo Emerson

As I watch the political party conventions, and look at the polling that the country is almost equally divided along one side or another entirely, this passage came to mind. I am amazed myself that I must see and experience things very differently and distinctly from a large voter base.

SpreadingFungusHF_post1.jpg

Is it lack of authenticity on the side of one party or another? I certainly think that authenticity is lacking - but perhaps others are experiencing an authenticity that I cannot.

Yet, we all seem to go about our lives in remarkably similar ways - so long as the activity is simple and common. On occasion, I have witnessed outlier behavior - but for the most part, folks around me just want to conduct whatever business they have, limit contact, and go home.

Our social lives depending entirely on virtual interactions with those who most agree with us - with those we feel are authentic and sympathize with us.

Few want to accept advice and guidance from others considered superficial.

If opinions not expressed with righteous fervor, is it worth it to pay attention?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63900.40
ETH 3140.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98