Abuse of @bellyrub fix coming next round!

in #bellyrub7 years ago (edited)

unknown (1).png

We have noticed a few accounts sending in massive amounts of bids to @bellyrub and I have been contacted about it.
We will be implementing a fix for this type of abuse with @bellyrub, by ether cutting the vote percentage or implementing a max bid amount.

Abuse like this is not good for the platform, we see that and will act on it.

We at @bellyrub headquarters are going to start a fix next round for bellyrub. We will be trying out a 50% vote which will cut the amount to half of the vote!

In doing so the amount of time has been cute to 1.2 hour windows.

We will be monitoring the bids, if there is continued abuse you will be placed on @bellyrub's blacklist.

Sort:  

@zeartul i think making 50 percent votage may not help it will drop your profit you are using dr otto system ask him if he can setup max bidding limit in bot

@zeartul I don't consider sending large bid amounts abuse. It's a bidding system and people are free to bid as much as they want. Since everything is open and public others can see if there are large bids and choose not to participate in that bidding round.

For anyone that doesn't know, you can check this at the Steem Bot Tracker Site that I made for precisely this purpose.

If you want to add a max bid amount (like @minnowbooster) to encourage more use of the bot by minnows, I think that's a great thing and I would definitely support that, but I don't think you can call people sending large bids "abusers" since they are following the current rules of the bot which does not have a limit on the max bid.

I don't mean to sound critical, I have just sent large amounts to voting bots in the past and didn't consider myself an abuser, but I apologize if it has negatively affected anyone else.

I think the voting bots are an essential service to help people who don't have huge whale followers promote their posts and @bellyrub is the biggest and I have used it many times. So I very much appreciate you offering it and running it for the community.

I will update the bot tracker site to reflect the new 50% vote amount and 1.2 hour bidding windows.

When I mean abuse I mean sending massive amounts of sbd to something you know is not worth it. and making others lose out on the %.

I have set it to vote 50% to not have such an impact on those types of posts, until we can find a better fix this will have to do, It seems though many others like this 1.2 hours a lot better.

@bellyrub is the biggest and is being targeted for that same reason, they see accounts sending massive amounts of bids to posts that are not worth it. Which I agree I am not saying every one that send in high bids are abusing the system just those individuals are making it seem so.

@bellyrub is meant as a promotional tool nothing more. There is no profit to be made really just a promotion tool much like the one steemit has.

That changes when high bids come on minimizing the others bids, I know it is an auction system but I see it as every one deserves to get some benefit out of it.

@bellyrub does not sell any private bids, I was like that before and it effected the time table which was stopped weeks ago. Before the new power came into play. 100% of the vote is meant for the users, no private bids no private deals.

Keep in mind this is not free delegation as some might think, it is being paid for, as far as users saying @bellyrub is abusing that power is plain absurd, it is not free SP it is being rented out, for the sole propose of the bid bot @bellyrub. Trying to stop high bids is not as simple as one might think and converting @bellyrub to a minnowbooster or a randowhale is not an option for us, hence the SP is being rented out.

Thanks for the thoughtful reply @zeartul. I am definitely aware that you are paying for the delegation and as I said I do really appreciate you spending your money to lease that SP and offer the @bellyrub service.

I am also very happy to hear that you're no longer selling private bids. While it's certainly in your right to do so since you are leasing the SP it did mess up the voting windows as you mentioned.

I support your decision to switch to the 50% / 1.2 hour window system and I have already updated the bot tracker site to reflect that. I will continue to use and support @bellyrub and will make sure not to send any large bid amounts in the future.

Once again I just want to reiterate how important I think voting bots are to the community (since the built in post promotion tool is mostly worthless) and I just added a vote for you as witness to show my support.

Hi @zearful! There are people claiming on my wall that the maximum bid amount for bellyrub is now 25 sbd. However... i don't see anything about that cap here on this post. Will you please confirm or deny what the upper limit for bidding is?

This wonderful comment has received a bellyrub 1.59 % upvote from @bellyrub.

Nice info and I only used a couple times so far as I am new but have received great results so thank you for your service. Also thanks @yabapmatt for your wonderful steem bot tracker I am not great with computers but could only imagine how much time and effort it takes to makes something so complicated you sure do have some great minds you guys keep up the great work and I will enjoy being a simple user.

Hey @zeartul,

I placed a $1 bid yesterday, and got $0.1 upvote. What do you think about this? Is this fare or you gonna refund my losses?

Yes I agree with your point

well well well...just got $0.66 back to my hard earned 1 SBD.
THANK YOU.

I used to love bellyrub but now it is returning less than what was given.

On my last post I gave 5 SBD to bellyrub and only got up-vote of $4.85 that's a lose of $0.15

Hello @zeartul

Can you define what is the amount of an abuse bid?
This amount is different for everybody so it would be nice you are more precise in your definition?
5$, 10$, 20$, 50$?

As far as I know, any amount now is fine, the $250 is out for right now, so it is just half.

@bellyrub was being targeted for users sending in super high bids on posts that any one can clearly see it was not worth it.

But I do not use the word abuse like any normal daily base, just trying to get every one a chance to get some promotion while not landing on the trending page just by using @bellyrub.

So others can benefit as well, at the moment their is no min bid, we just lowerd the vote % to 50.

Thank you for the clarification

Hello @zeartul I just transferred 1 SBD has and I forget about the URL link of my post

Interesting; but it doesn't matter from which angle you look at it, this cannot be considered abuse ! It is unfair if you take into consideration the moral or ethical aspect but in terms of complying with rules of the bot; it cannot be considered abuse.

Maybe a way to fix this issue is to set the bot to place extremely high bids on Cue and thus eliminating it from that round until it is reviewed manually. If it fits the criteria based on quality of content; it will then be entered automatically into the next round, if it does not; 50% of the bid should be refunded with a warning message. A second abuse and all funds should be witheld.

8 hours ago @bellyrub received 1.000 SBD from @always1success. By the link: https://steemit.com/photography/@always1success/bright-images-of-nature, there was not a vote and there was no return of 1.000 SBD! Help me @zeartul solve this problem!

I had the same thing happening to me. I send 1.0SBD to @bellyrub and never got upvote or money back, that was couple of days ago.

While I'm happy to hear something's being done about it, is there something stating a person can't do it? I don't remember seeing one (but I have so little SBD I could've seen it and ignored it because it wouldn't apply to me LOL).

I used the service twice for the first time this week and am not sure I'll get back what I bid; right now it's close but the payout amount keeps going down. The second time I paid more attention and the bids went up in huge chunks at the very end. Is it possible to simply put a max on a bid amount but leave it alone otherwise? Changing the 50% vote so it's only 1.2 hours wouldn't be my first choice. Neither is eliminating self votes.
Thank you!

@zeartul - I welcome the steps to control abuse. I had recently started to use the bellyrub service and then noted abuse by some Steemians. It was very disheartening to see minnows with low SBDs (who need support from bellyrub the most) get sidelined and hardly get any benefit. Thanks for taking measures to correct the situation

Regards,

@vm2904

That is why we decided to lower it to 1.2 hours we might even lower it to 30 mins.

Blacklisting the abusers would be the appropriate action.

^this guy gets it.

That is the hard part.

Hey @bellyrub / @zeartul, seems like I didn't get any upvote for my 3 SBD bid. Is this because of the mentioned bid abuse?

Thanks in advance.

https://steemit.com/science/@n3bul4/dwarf-star-with-exceptionally-giant-planet-discovered

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 63977.42
ETH 2760.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65