You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: On a cloudy day: a "Behind The Photo" story!

in #behindthephoto4 years ago (edited)

You know very well that 80% in photography is composition. The first one (that I also like the most out of these) has the diagonal of the wall tumbling down and right through the shot, bringing depth and creating the “layer stack” effect.

I also try panormas (with all sorts of devices, I don’t usually use the DSLR for this) but I’ve come to reason with the idea that “yeah, they’re nice and wide” but they’re like the SD card vs. film photography. The latter still survives (and will most probably survive for some time in the future) because it forces our brains to squeeze the composition, economically speaking. When u are limited to only “that much” then creativity and positioning are primordial...

PS. Would love to get a sabatical year and roam Greece. Sometimes I consider myself an idiot being so close and only scratching the surface with Thessaloniki (like I did last November) instead of diving deep inside, towards Pelopones and southern Greece.

Sort:  

Yes you are right. After all photography is about limitations. Limiting the three dimensional world, in a given two dimensional frame and no matter what tricks we pull, this doesn't change!

A year roaming around Greece! That's a dream for me too. Fortunately I was working for a travel magazine for 3 years so I have a pretty good overview of the country but it's not the same. Loved to do a long road trip through the Balkans too!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 69731.54
ETH 3810.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84