Green, water and laughs (Behind the Photo - Edition # 7)

in #behindthephoto5 years ago (edited)
I want to share these photos because they remind me very happy moments in the Gran Sabana - Venezuela.


The photographs were taken with a Sony camera that I do not use frequently. Sony was one of my first digital cameras and, generally, I use it for quick and simple photographs from a technical point of view.

When I did this hike I was not emotionally well. Some thieves had stolen my worshiping Canon camera. So some teacher’s friends invited me to go to the Gran Sabana to forget that incident.

I made the trip in 2015 and was the first time I visited this beautiful place in Venezuela. The photographs were taken in the automatic option, freehand and without filters.

I traveled with my friend Ana in her car and I drove almost all the way. We stopped at El Callao where she made me these photographs today remember with great emotion.

DSC01418.JPG

* * *

Welcome. Municipality "El Callao". A "madama" (colloquial word of Madame) in the background image. The statue is made of cement and symbolizes the ladies who maintain a great tradition in this town in Venezuela. Recently, the Carnival of El Callao was placed on the list of the Intangible Heritage of Humanity by Unesco.

DSC01431.JPG

* * *

Then, we stopped at a curve where the "Mother Stone" (Piedra Madre) is located. Ana told me that was the entrance to the Gran Sabana and the huge symbolizes ancestral magic of the beautiful landscape that we were about to see stone.

DSC01445.JPG

When we arrived at the lodge I took advantage of capturing a photograph of a sign, with indications of places and distances, and of course the place where we stayed.


|DSC01532.JPG| DSC01473.JPG|

* * *

We wait a few hours to meet the group. Professor María Elena was the guide and other friends: Carmen (Tourism Technician) and Nai (Computer Engineer) were part of this great adventure.


In this photograph they posed for the camera with the “order” that the waterfall should come to the bottom.

DSC01492.JPG

Of course, it was also important to photograph the triumph, hahahaha.

DSC01500.JPG

* * *

For 5 days we were in several places. The first place we went to was "La Arenera" where we found other groups of tourists. There, the water is completely crystalline but since I had not used the camera for a long time I could not find the filter options. So I resigned myself to take pictures of the landscape and the girls in the waterfall.

DSC01508.JPG


|DSC01511.JPG| DSC01523.JPG|

* * *

Another day we were at the "Mirador del Oso". That is a place where the majesty of the Tepui is observed and where people place stones, one on top of the other, to make a wish. As you can see in the picture.


|DSC01588.JPG| DSC01568.JPG|

There I tried to make a selfie of Ana and me. The happiness that I have on my face is unquestionable.

DSC01579.JPG

* * *

Then, another day, we were in "Kako Parú". That is a National Park in Canaima. In that place I took advantage of walking on roads we didn't even know for the travel guide. I will explain. Normally, people walk along the paths marked but I like to discover other paths. Part of the group disagreed with the idea but the other part of the group was itself agreed.

DSC01656.JPG

Construction of bahareque walls and palm roof (native construction of certain indigenous ethnic groups in the region)


|DSC01506.JPG| DSC01594.JPG|

* * *

But the important thing was that we had fun and that we arrived at a mysterious and mythical place on the Gran Sabana; where the stones are red vermilion and the landscape is dense with vegetation. I tried to make an abstract photograph of the stream of water and rocks shaped slabs.


|DSC01652.JPG| DSC01653.JPG

DSC01696.JPG

* * *

In those days that I had spent in the Gran Sabana my mood had already changed. And since I like flowers, I took some photos of flowers grown by a lady in Santa Elena de Uairen and I also took photos of flowers of the native vegetation.


|DSC01587.JPG| DSC01456.JPG|

* * *

To end this great adventure ride we went to “Kawi Falls” (Unesco World Heritage). There it is very easy to reach the lagoons of crystalline waters. The whole landscape invites tranquility and be in harmony with the environment. But also invites a refreshing swim to soothe fatigue and sweat from the walk.

DSC01691.JPG

DSC01669.JPG

DSC01672.JPG

These are the short stories Behind the Photos. Some photographs were with the models of my friends… hahahaha, other photographs were spontaneous and all are memories of joys.


I share this last photograph of the landscape of the Venezuelan Grand Savannah (Gran Sabana - Venezuela) where you can see the clear sky, the great river and in the background a Tepui. An unforgettable image!

DSC01533.JPG

I hope you liked some of these photos and enjoyed, like I did, this walk behind the photo.

Photographs @marcybetancourt
© Marcy Betancourt. All rights reserved

text16.png

This publication was prepared to participate in the Contest Behind the Photo. If you want to know what it is, you can visit the original post HERE.

text16.png

Thanks for reading. Welcome your comments.

Infinite Greetings!

Somos compañeros de viaje

Soy miembro Club12

Sort:  

Hermosas fotos @marcybetancourt, nuestra Venezuela es grande y asombrosa.

Ciertamente @isabelpena, los paisajes en Venezuela son asombrosos. Tengo mucha nostalgia de paseos como este. Ahora viajar es muy difícil incluso yendo en vehículo propio. Gracias por visitar mi blog. Feliz día!

Están bellísimas todas las fotografías, he viajado a muchos lugares de mi hermosa Venezuela, pero aún no he podido ir a la gran Sabana, espero poder ir algún día. :)

Tienes que ir algún día...es un lugar mágico!
Recuerda llevar repelente para mosquitos y dinero en efectivo porque los pemones hacen acuerdos pero en efectivo (desde ya te digo que los indígenas son muy amables). También hay que llevar bolsas para traerse la basura que producimos. Y lo más importante, viaja con las ganas de pasarla bien, de divertirte y de llenarte de energías.

Congratulations, your post has been upvoted by @dsc-r2cornell, which is the curating account for @R2cornell's Discord Community.

Curated by @blessed-girl

r2cornell_curation_banner.png

Thanks @dsc-r2cornell for this great support. Infinite greetings!

Qué bonito viaje en esos parajes tan naturales y tan bellos me gustaron mucho las cascadas y las Pozas en las que os bañasteis. Bonitas fotografías. Un saludo 🤗

La Gran Sabana es una de los lugares naturales más hermosos en el planeta tierra. Aún sigue muy cuidado gracias a los Pemones y a la consciencia ambiental que se ha creado en el lugar. Un gran saludo

Hello @marcybetancourt, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Thanks a lot for the support @creativecrypto. Infinite greetings!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62892.68
ETH 2581.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.73