[Contest Entry] Behind the Mystery Door - Afterlife

Hello Steemians! This is my entry for the #behindmysterydoor contest hosted by @onceuponatime. The theme for the contest was to write something about what lies behind the door in the picture as stated here. I thought of writing a poem and, although I've used very simple English to portray my thoughts, I tried my best till the end. I hope you enjoy it! Here's my entry:


DQmYPpT1Hx78AvER3ye3BH232EYAZgh3AkS46sF8oQcxToX_1680x8400.jpeg
(Image Source)

Through the crack on the door at the end of the road
Did I see joy or sadness or a mixture of both?
Did I see countless stars or the creatures from Mars?
Or the rumored golden treasures that were remains of old wars?

I will tell you the truth, son, I won't make you wait
The myths of the treasure are but a bait
The ones who have entered, never could they leave
Inside there was something you would not believe

There were fairies and mermaids and centaurs so tall
And dragons breathed fire, but above all
I saw the horizon with the sky underneath
The fishes were flying while the birds dived beneath

The lilies were singing songs of great sorrow
The seasons changed faster than the day turned tomorrow
Even without spring, the flowers would bloom
As if things strange to humanity were locked inside the room

But then my eyes drifted, I saw a little boy
Siting below the rainbow holding a stick for a toy
Inside this vibrant universe, he looked all alone
The wonders of this world as if he had forgone

What made him end up here? I wondered for long
But there was no concrete answer that would come along
Did the humans reject him? Did they think they don't need
A boy pale and thin with eyes devoid of greed

Was he a child that the mother never wanted?
Or a soul that the world thought of as haunted?
Or was he a criminal? A robber? A thief?
Then why did he look so sad in a world without grief?

The end of the road is the end of the world
The world that we live in, what worth does it hold?
This door that I've witnessed is a passage between
The world that we live in and the world that we seek

But even if we let go of our existence
Does that mean we can finally live a life of brilliance?
I grab on the handle with fear and with hope
This is what I saw inside the door at the end of the road.


So, according to me, inside the door is the world of the afterlife. Sometimes, people who are defeated by life stumble upon it and only few of them manage to resist the temptation and return back. Only a man who is truly happy will stay unaffected by the door at the end of the road. The poem conveys the rest of what I wanted to say and I really hope I managed to get the emotions across.

That is all!
Thank you for visiting
See you soon ~~
Have a great day!!!

Sort:  

Thank you for your very poetic entry in my contest!!!

wow that is a deep and meaningful poem, well done !

Try Our Service Before Buy🎁

  • Exclusive 30 days free upvotes to your every new post.
  • Limited Time Offer
  • No need to send any kinds of steem or sbd its full free service.
    we have paid service too so please check them too. Active the free upvote service and learn more about it here : JOIN NOW CLICK HERE

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58334.82
ETH 2595.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40