~ Behind a mysterious door... ~ Competition from @onceuponatime

in #behindmysterydoor6 years ago (edited)

Hello everyone! I almost forgot to join the remarkable contest, organized @onceuponatime . Do you know this great philosopher of our time? Imagine, he lives in Greece. It's perfect. Be sure to visit his blog.



DQmYPpT1Hx78AvER3ye3BH232EYAZgh3AkS46sF8oQcxToX_1680x8400.jpg



All of a sudden, I wandered into an unfamiliar part of town. Deserted narrow streets. There is no gloss of resort places around. Even a little dirty. I saw an old door in the wall. "Must be the toilet," I thought happily. After all I already some time that was to visit toilet. I opened the door.



80579c68237cfd4.jpg



A bright flash of light blinded me for a moment. An unknown force pushed me across the threshold. So I woke up lying on the dirty ground. Around the noise. Bustle. It looks like a Bazaar. People are in a hurry, they argue and seem very passionate about their business. But why do they look so weird? What's masquerade?



ixJdQzBRJGQ.jpg



I stood up, shook off the dirt, and decided to look around. Maybe that door was just a doorway to the next street? I went and never stopped wondering. Such a a a strange speech, words ancient, almost disappeared from modern lexicon. In the distance I saw a man sitting in a barrel. He was almost naked, a crowd gathered around him. They were screaming. A richly dressed man jumped on his horse and raced into the distance. I heard only a fragment of his phrase: "if I was not Alexander, I would like to be Diogenes!"



a5msqW2oYUE.jpg



Little by little the crowd began to disperse. I decided to come closer to the man in the barrel. Maybe he can explain to me what's going on here. I walked closer to him. The man in the barrel was sunbathing in the sun, oblivious to me. I asked him who he was and what the event was. To which he replied: "This is the most ridiculous but the most spectacular thing in the world. It's life."I was surprised. Why is a ridiculous pursuit? The sage of the barrel said, "in order to live properly, you have to have either the mind or the loop."


I looked around still times on sides, while looking for someone more adequate. But the picture is all the more astounding to me. Buildings, road, people... I indeed proved in the past! I rushed all the way back to the mysterious door. But... No doors there not it turned out. Maybe I was confused. I've been wandering around all day looking for the door, I'm cold and hungry. The people are gone from the market. Night has come. In the square there's only me and Diogenes. I approached him and asked for wise counsel. Diogenes said, " Sit next to me. I'm not gonna let you in my barrel. But you can sleep on a pile of hay nearby. I want to do philosophy. And you can use that, too. Lie down, look up at the sky and let my thoughts loose."I was surprised why I need philosophy, for which it will not help me now. But he replied, " Philosophy gives us a readiness for every turn of fate. The triumph over himself is the crown of philosophy."


I had no other choice. I just wanted to close my eyes and Wake up in my apartment. I just wish it was all just a dream!...


As soon as I closed my eyes, suddenly there was a clatter of horses, the shouts and whistling. The riders jumped out to me. They shouted " Here it is!Seize him! It's him! It's Prometheus! I tried to escape, but they grabbed me.




To be continued.

Sort:  

Thank you for your entry in my contest!

Started out as just a toilet, but ended up (or, rather, didn't end LOL): A cliff hanger! My oh my!

Haha, thank you for pushing my imagination. It was an interesting exercise.

I had a thesis writing in college about this philosopher. Very good, I know and love. I love your expression!
good luck in competition

Thank you, dear! I am very pleased that you liked it.

ohh. excellent content and great writing. Congratulations, my friend. It's pleasant to follow your page. congratulations.

Thank you very much, I am very pleased to hear that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59889.02
ETH 2673.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46