If You are Not a Procrastinator, Do Not Read This. If You Do Not Want to Make Sense of Your Sense of Self, Do Not Read This.

in #behavior6 years ago

New Studies Reveal Procrastinator Is Really A Fearless Optimist.

The panic monster is back and you can hear him roar. Your adrenaline level is way up as you type in the last three paragraphs of your news story. You do a cursory reading looking for missing words that often forget to type in when you are in rush trying to beat the afternoon deadline. With a sigh of relief, you hit the send button and seconds later, your news story reaches your editor’s inbox.

@cocoland procrastination3.jpg

You are a beat reporter stationed at the SEC and this is how your daily grind looks like. Procrastination is not an option. Journalists can’t afford to delay news as it would mean depriving the readers of important information. Your editors would yell at you and you would feel small if all the other reporters have the story and you don’t. There is just too much to lose if you procrastinate.

While you manage to beat your news story deadlines day-after-day, the other aspects of your life are not as spot on.

You are a procrastinator.

You manage to cram at the last minute what needs to be done but only after so much delay. You make excuses for putting off deciding which workshop to take, negotiate with your boss for a pay raise or call the laundry service for your dirty clothes. In all these situations, there is no panic monster who could be relied upon to rally all the cells in your body toward action and not stupor.

You find yourself asking, "why do I sabotage myself"?

@cocoland procrastination2.jpg

After much soul-searching, you admit that you dread failing. You do fear rejection by your boss and not getting a raise, as much as you fear being disappointed that your chosen workshop is closed, or that the laundry service may not send someone right away to wash your clothes. You postpone acting on these and other similar issues. It seems natural for you to dawdle on tasks that are unpleasant or those with difficult results.

But, is this the only reason?

Recent studies in psychology are now painting another picture.

  • It seems procrastinators don’t only linger; they are also almost always are late. But tardiness “doesn’t have to do with their ability to care about punctuality.”
  • Procrastinators are said to be "skewed optimists" who think they’ll “have enough time to make it, no matter how much time is left.” They believe that good things are very likely to happen.

Sources: Lay, C. H. (1988). The relationship of procrastination and optimism to judgments of time to complete an essay and anticipation of setbacks. Journal of Social Behavior and Personality, 3(3), 201-214. Schneider, F. W., Gruman, J. A., & Coutts, L. M. (2012).Applied Social Psychology. SAGE Publications, Inc.

This is the half-full version of the glass of water.

  • While you do admit you have the tendency to suspend acting on both minor and important issues in your life because you hate coming to terms with negative outcomes, you do see that you are always hopeful that things will come out right in the end.
  • While you do fear failure, which is normal, you are also a believer that things will soon lift and the situation will be okay.

Presented with this new side of the coin, you have a better grasp of your sense of self.
With this new explanation on your cause for delays, you have a better appreciation of your approach to dealing with the world.

@cocoland procrastination.jpg

You are a fearless optimist with a very bad habit of postponing. So when you start to play for time, you nip it in the bud and catch yourself.

"Am I just afraid of a negative result?" (afraid to fail).
"Or am I just hoping that things will be alright?" (too optimistic).
Swing by these questions to get to the bottom of your procrastination.

Nowadays, you are a better procrastinator. :)


Follow Me:
@cocoland

xxoo
shala

Sort:  

A Fearless Optimist would not procrastinate based on fear as they have none.
Fearful means to be full of fear.
I think you meant fearful optimist.
:)

That's an interesting study and I can kind of see myself in there. I procrastinate on things I don't really want to do but must do, always finding something else that needs to be done that is more fun. There are just 24 hours in each day, and with the need to sleep, that leaves just 16 hours to get everything done. Not everything can be completed in 16 hours, so something MUST be put off. In my case, I choose to put off the things I find unpleasant or will take a long time to complete once begun. Instead I choose to tackle the smaller jobs that I know I can finish in one sitting and don't have to leave a big mess lying around for days while completing the big jobs.

I tried planning my 24-hour activities but I just couldn't follow. To be honest, I just know what time I'm supposed to wake up and sleep when I feel I need to. Thank you for making me realize we only have 16 hours a day to make a difference. I'd probably write about it in the future the moment I notice regularity.

Thank you also for the tips on which ones to deal with first.

I don't know if I would call that "tips". It is just my way of doing things and it may not be the best way! If you saw how my office looks, you would likely NOT follow my way of doing things. LOL

I think it's a useful advise :)

Thank-you for that. It feels great to be helpful.

New studies? But I've read that before, I think they may have just added to it.

Too bad we are such optimists thinking there's more time to do stuff we have to do. Haha.

Thank you for your comments @artgirl.

The good news is, it's just a habit. And habits can be changed. If we want to form new habits, we can. I read about The 3R’s of Habit Change. Check it out too, when you get a chance.

True, hard to shake off such an ingrained habit unless we really want it out of our lives.

Thanks for the book suggestion. 👍

Thank you for reading my post. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63851.10
ETH 3059.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85