Dark and Amber Honey - My New Discovery

in #bees8 years ago

Hello everybody! I'm going to share my new discovery about honey with you. Yesterday  I visited my boyfriend's bee yard again. He showed me how to extract honey. It is a very interesting process, I've never seen something like that before. 



Discovery

I thought that honey can be of yellow, amber or golden colour...But yesterday I saw dark honey. It was almost black! The first thought was that something was wrong with it. Well, my boyfriend explained that the colour of honey depends on the plants and the breed of bees. Honey in one of his bee hives is dark due to the buckwheat field near there. Bees collect nectar from blooming buckwheat. Bucwheat honey is dark because it is rich with various micronutrients and ferrum. Buckwheat honey is conidered to be a first class honey.

Look at the combs, the honey is dark brown

So I tasted dark buckwheat honey. It's taste it to rich, strong and kind of tart. 

What honey do you like most?

Feel free to leave your comments and questions.


Hope you like my post.

Follow me @victoriart

Sort:  

dang I would love to have a bee farm.... #wishing

it is very interesting to keep bees. They are so nice and positive. And their honey....yummmmmm

I typically like golden honey. So I guess that is the lighter honey.

Steem on,
Mike

Yeah, the lighter honey in my pics is golden one. It is sunflower honey or mix flowers honey. I like it more than buckwheat one

Honey has always been a nutritious sweetener since Biblical times.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63204.10
ETH 2560.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79