Collecting pollen from solitary beessteemCreated with Sketch.

in #bees5 years ago (edited)

I dont know if this will work, I could not find any others trying to collect pollen from Mason and Leafcutter bees. Though there are designs for the common Honey bee, to rake the pollen off their leg pollen sacs and drop the pollen into a box got collection.

Looking at many designs for honey bees I decided to use some wire mesh to dislodge pollen from the bees. I used 1/2 inch screen on one side and 1/4 inch screen on the other side as I'm not sure what size will work better until they try to pass through it.

I fitted the mesh across the box and to fit up flush when I close the top. By placing bee boards in the middle of the box between the wire mesh screens the bees will need to pass through this mesh. And my hope is over many hours a fine layer of pollen will be at the bottom of the box. We shall see when they return how realistic this is.

The drawer pulls out and has a very fine screen that should stop the pollen from falling through it. From what I've seen the pollen must be collected daily.

This box is a test, an idea and if it works I plan on ramping up scale and maybe I can get enough pollen to eat and to sell to others. But first I will have to see if the bees accept this design, and if it successfully rakes pollen off their bodies.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  
Loading...

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Hi @solominer!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.481 which ranks you at #6268 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 19 places in the last three days (old rank 6287).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 202 contributions, your post is ranked at #34.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63811.50
ETH 2617.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77