🍺 The legend of the BLACK QUEEN - beer review and curious facts 🍺

in #beersaturday6 years ago

I am a stories person and I like my food and drink to have stories behind them just to make it more interesting. Allow me to take you on a short journey about my favorite beer and the wicked tale that accompanies it. This a tale that beer lovers tell around campfires while chills run down their spines. Sometimes they even get so caught up in it they forget about their families and become late for dinners and appointments. If you have a loved one who forgot to call or is running late, don't be mad at him/her, maybe he or she is somewhere listening to this story, shaken and afraid. Hug that person when they sober up and comfort them :)

crnakraljica-468.jpg
Image source

THE BLACK QUEEN of Medvedgrad

Barbara of Cilli (1392 – 1451) was the queen of Hungary and Bohemia by marriage to Holy Roman Emperor Sigismund of Luxembourg. She married him when she was only 16 but that didn't stop her to become actively involved in politics and grow up to a queen and empress that her contemporary Enea Silvio Piccolomini (pope Pio II.) described as licentious and profane. Some of her estates were located in Croatia, and her favorite one was Medvedgrad. But you don't want to hear the boring official story, do you? You want the mysterious stuff, don't you? You little rebel... Ok then...

tumblr_m510dgVIlp1r4lbmro1_1280.jpg
Author Jeff Simpson, image location

Six hundred years after her death she is still considered a witch and if you care about your life you won't walk through the woods of Medvedgrad at night. Barbara loved occultism and alchemy, the forbidden sciences of the time and made a pact with the devil himself. She would throw her lovers off the city walls or put them in a dungeon with a wild boar. Sometimes she would unleash her pet raven to attack the villagers. When the Ottoman Empire came to conquer her kingdom she wanted to sacrifice Medvedgrad for the rest of her land and save herself so she screamed at the devil:

"Strike down devil! I will give you Medvedgrad"

Devil stroke but as he was amused by her arrogance, he turned her into a snake when she died and rumor has it that she still guards her treasures beneath Medvedgrad in secret tunnels.

WHO WOULD DARE TO NAME A BEER AFTER HER?

Brewery and beer house Medvedgrad was founded on December 22nd, 1994 in Zagreb and quickly became the most popular place in Croatia for all beer lovers. When they first started brewing their beer they only had the pilsner Golden bear and the dark lager Black queen but now have 19 different ones in a variety of flavor.

pivnice_mali_medo.jpg
Medvedgrad brewery

For more than two decades, the brewery has been making beer in a traditional way, without using additives and is now in four different locations with their pubs. If you get, as many of us do, a bit hungry after enjoying your beer you need not worry because pubs are also famous for their traditional and quality food, they even provide a catering service.

THE BLACK QUEEN - beer review

Keep in mind that this is a subjective review, I encourage you to try this beer for yourself, trust me, you won't regret it. :)

Information:

  • TYPE - dark lager
  • ALCOHOL - 4,8 %
  • COLOR - dark brown verging on black
  • EXTRACT - 13 %
  • BEST SERVED - at 5°C
  • FOAM - very thick
  • AVAILABLE - throughout the year
  • CARBONATION - medium

Experience:

Whenever visiting Medvedgrad, I always order this beer. I do like to try new things but somehow always end up drinking the black queen. This beer has a roasted malty caramel flavor and it somehow leaves a fruity kind of finish with a hint of cocoa, sweet and bitter at the same time.

Here is a personal photo that was taken in the pub located in the Samoborska road. It's a nice pub, you can watch the beer being made through the glass panels and enjoy food prepared on the traditional grill with wooden charcoal. Oh, and the best thing about this place? You can buy their bottled beer at outlet prices. 🍺

230959_1046868813674_7671_n.jpg
Not much of a photographer, I know, but you wouldn't be either after a couple of these...

So there you go, I hope I captured your attention and got you interested in this beer. If you would like to read more about different beers please visit Beer Saturday challenge organized by @detlev and maybe even submit your own entry. If you haven't figured it out by now, this one was mine :)

Cheers! 🍻

Sort:  

This post has received a 0.45 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

A beer with a backstory is quite the thing - especially when it's as extreme as this one. I loved this, the whole history, going so far back, and yet still relevant today. Gives new meaning to having a quite beer out with a few friends. Not when the black queen is involved!

Be aware, after a couple of rounds, legends say the Black Queen herself appears so do not drink too much :)

I'm tempted, yet hesitant all at the same time :)

I really like the design work on this one. Dark and classy, like the beer itself (I hope)

Really love this series of boozy reviews.

Boozy reviews, hihihi, I love it :)

Croatia is on my list of places I want to travel to, and I'm a huge beer nerd! If I ever get the chance, I'll definitely have to stop by this place and sample the dark queen's magic!

Don't miss it, it's worth a try :)

Not my favorite one, but Love the story ;) Zivila...

Živio! 🍺

Just point me in the direction where I can buy it. :P

You can buy it in Split also :) There is a map of all the stores that sell that beer on their web page.

Nisam zna za to, taman iden vanka moga bi ih nakupovat par. :P

What an interesting story to accompany a beer. I haven't ever had beer in my life, but I know I'd never want to drink this one. It seems scary to me haha. Yeah, I am a bit superstitious. :P

If you drink just one glass you will be safe, but if you drink a lot you will see the Black Queen :)

Hmmm interesting now I want to drink it and that too, a lot of it ;)

I don't drink but a place looks wonderful.

They serve great food too so even people who don't drink visit this place often.

A beer with a black story! 😎😂😂😂

@zen-art bravo👏👏👏

Do follow me back👌👌

Love the name, The Black Queen, for a beer. More on tap: a full coven? or a deck of cards? Great story. I'll remember the name & I will definitely have it if I see it. My review has a "back story" too, but not quite the same. :-)) Yours is more exciting.

Thanks @dennisauburn for stopping by, I hope you get the chance to try it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64485.37
ETH 3156.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05