🍺Zeke's Sweet Hops - New Beers for #BeerSaturday🍺

in #beersaturday5 years ago (edited)

zekes-hops.jpg

It is about time I posted of a couple new beers I have discovered. The weekly #beersaturday contest is put up by @detlev on Thursdays but I generally stick to Saturday for my entry so that I can get into the weekend beer. This week, I have a surprise, a nice change, and a foreign friend.

Title Image source https://www.pinterest.pt/pin/86975836530677299/ edited by me.

text16.png

A Surprise

IMG_6596.jpg

Hop Side IPA - Perth Brewery http://perthbrewery.ca/ - I have not yet written about anything from Perth Brewery because it is not exactly in this region, and I can't remember one of their beers that I have enjoyed too much. When it comes to branding, this one didn't jump off the shelf at me because of the generic imagery on a label that you cant even take in without rotating the can. You can see it poured relatively clear and there is no distinct thing on the can to catch your eye rather than the overused hop animation, and a yellow trunk latch?

IMG_6597.jpg

It doesn't get much better visually when you turn the can as you are greeted by annoying random font sizes, a note very clever play on words that has nothing to do with the text, and a story that looks like it was created by a key word search generator. Herein lies the surprise.....

....It was actually quite good! The initial taste is a nice bold/sweet blast not unlike my very favourite IPAs. The hop character changes as is slider over your tongue and evolves to a unique bitterness in the after taste that you come to enjoy when your pallet expects it. As a review, it is rare that I glow about a new one as I don't like to get excited about something I may never find again, and the best I can give is and I would buy this again! which is the case with this IPA. I would suggest giving this a try if you are a hop head or you see another style by Perth Brewery.

text16.png

A Nice Change

IMG_6569.jpg

YUZU Pale Ale - Radical Road Brewery - This one you may have seen me mention before during the March period when one of the owners brought it for the hockey team he plays on with us. By contrast, this can literally does jump off the shelf with its splashy bold design but understated and unique colour usage. The first YUZU is so artistic and is cleverly cut in half for style and the entirety of the label hits you without rotating. The professional shelf stocker can easily place this on the shelf and gain your attention. I think it is my friend Steve himself who designed the label which makes him as good a designer as a hockey team mate.

IMG_6570.jpg

The beer is very clean looking and you can see the light air that is moving the beer around and activating the taste when you pour. It is a little strange Japanese fruit added to the brew but it is subtle enough not to overpower. It is very well articulated on a back panel with consistent font size and a concise description of the unique and lively flavour. Hard to believe this is only 5% alcohol with that much taste and doesn't even proclaim itself an IPA.

In short, if you see this beer, grab one to taste and let me know what you think. Tasty enough for hop heads, clean enough for more refined pallets, and unique enough for the progressive beer discoverer. Plus, it is a rather small brewery without too much production/reach so it will be a treat. It is a **I will pick this up every time I see it" beer for Zeke.

text16.png

A Foreign Friend

IMG_6333 (1).jpg

Dale's Pale Ale - Oscar Blues Brewery https://www.oskarblues.com/ - I picked this one because I had never seen it before, but mainly because I saw it was from @davedickeyyall's home state. If it was Dave's Pale Ale instead of Dale, it might have warrented its own STEEM post dedicated by this Whale (I just needed to finish that sentence off with a rhyming word;)

The label is boldly contrasting though a little simple in colour scheme and design. It also sits relatively clear and I pulled it aggressively for the extra head on top we like to characterize as an american pour.

IMG_6334.jpg

The back of the can doesn't bother to feature a pretentious and aggrandizing story, letting the ale speak for itself. That didn't stop the american government from taking over the space with warnings we don't read, and the Canadian government to steal some of the label space for some dual-language bullshit of its own.

Simply put, this beer is simply good. If I were beside a tent in colorado about to enjoy an #eveningbowl, I could definitely see myself enjoying this. I am sure the Colorado folks would chastise me because there are MUCH better beers there and I would like to taste their favourites as well!

Probably won't buy/see this again but I didn't hate this!

text16.png

108 weeks of #beersaturday?!? https://steemit.com/contest/@detlev/week-108-of-beersaturday-win-some-sbd-and-beer My man @detlev definitely enjoys beer as much as I have and I am so glad to have met him on steem. One day we will have a beer together.

Create your own #beersaturday post and share it at that link. CHEERS!

zekepicklemanbeerologist.jpg

1 #BEERTOKEN from my very own stash for each original reply you are kind enough to leave.


Sort:  

Nice reviews. The two pale ales sound pretty good. I tend to not drink IPA's, they're a bit too much for me.i like the color of Dale's Pale ale. I tend to like darker beers.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes I have slid away from the dark side into hop land in the last couple years. I do have a few darker ones lately and will have to do a post on the malty ones next week

Posted using Partiko iOS

I don't know what is worse warnings we don't need or mandatory French labels.

That being said, please remember the aluminum can is not for consumption and beer isn't meant to be used as a suppository unless it's labatt's blue, then that's the only way it's palatable.

Posted using Partiko Android

Amen to all of that!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you zekepickleman! You've just received an upvote of 67% by tommyknockers!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your posts



Please come visit me to see my daily report detailing my current upvote power and how much I'm currently upvoting.

Congratulations @zekepickleman! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 7000 comments. Your next target is to reach 7500 comments.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

I admit to liking both of the first cans. Nice imagery on both. As the US government putting things on the can, know that are laws make little sense. I can have ammo delivered and left at my door if I'm not home. I can legally walk down the street carrying a long rifle without any kind of license. But to have beer delivered to my house someone over 21 must be home to sign for it and it must come through a state licensed distributor. It is also illegal to walk down the street carrying an open can or bottle of beer.

Proud member of #powerhousecreatives

The beer is delicious, I would love to try some of these, plus it looks great.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61023.73
ETH 2948.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51