🍺 Zeke's Sweet Hops - BEER SATURDAY! 🍺

zekes-hops.jpg

I am not sure why my drinkin' buddy @detlev posts the #beersaturday challenge on Thursdays but maybe I should have asked him when we were on the BEER community discord connecting communities with @clixmoney, @shadowspub and the rest of the great folks.

Either way, I love my beer on Saturdays and will probably have a couple as I mow the lwan, earn some wifepoiunts, and maybe play some computer games. https://steemit.com/contest/@detlev/106-weeks-of-beersaturday-win-some-sbd-and-beer

text16.png

IMG_6454.jpg

Picture, if you will, a week of challenging work, battling priorities, and crisisises that I am paid well to solve. Add the fact that it started on Sunday evening when I had to shorten fathers day by 3 hours to go help rescue a client's business. It happens and I would rather be busy than bored. Then, you battle to make yourself free on Friday afternoon and the universe has seen fir to make it sunny and 21 Celsius.

The sky looks like this....you DAMN RIGHT it is beer time.

text16.png

IMG_6455.jpg

There is a terrace in town that is part of a great restaurant owned by a friend. This is my destination of choice on sunny Fridays because of that and it is usually perceived as too fancy a place to gurgle suds in the sun. I don't hesitate to scummy it up a little and it is a great place to catch up with buddies.

The clear drink on the right may have been an American beer but I will never know because I didn't touch it. I started with a Black Swan Raspberry Sour - https://www.blackswanbrewing.ca/show/our-beer for a couple of reasons:

  • It is different from my usual IPA and refreshing in the sun.
  • Another friend owns that brewery and I gotta support!
  • My usual Friday drinkin brother was too busy working to join us so I had to have his favourite beer and send him a pic to make him jealous. He replied with a friendly middle finger emoji. (SWISH!)

text16.png

IMG_6456.jpg

Next, I went for something new I had never even heard of before. Phillips Brewing & Malting Co Electric Unicorn White IPA. https://phillipsbeer.com/the-beers/ WTF is a white ipa?

After blasting my palette with a sour, it tasted like hell. About half way through it, it seemed to improve as my mouth forgot about the previous beer and the sun warmed some flavour into it. It had a somewhat sweet and clovey taste not unlike a Hoegaarden https://hoegaarden.com/ without too much of the wheat, and a bit more hops. I can't say I would have it again but am glad I had the chance to discover it and add another to the number I can say I know.

text16.png

IMG_6458.jpg

For my last one, I went with a half pint of IPA that I count in my top 10 to finish off a great session. The coaster grabbed my attention. Drink local was what it said and that was what I was currently doing. So, the branding/marekting guy was piqued and I had to read the rest of the words. The funny one there was Oakville Ontario (which is a 90 minute drive away and not local) and the important one that was not there was the name of the beer company using it as promotional material. Why would they spend the money to create something that would catch your eye, and not even put the name on the coaster? I flipped it over in annoyance to see who would do such a thing and I can't even recall which brewery it was now. Marketing fail.

text16.png

IMG_6459.jpg

My friend had to leave for an appointment but I stuck around to finish my half pint and get a little work done. So, I had a great meeting with a great friend on a great afternoon in a great place with some great beer. THAT's what I call a good beer Friday and hence my selection of this session for #beersaturday.

text16.png

What are you drinking this weekend?

beersaturday.jpg

Please consider following @detlev, joining us by blogging about your love for beer, and earning BEER tokens here on STEEM as well.

zekepicklemanbeerologist.jpg

PHC-Footer-05.gif

Sort:  

I like to drink a beer on a hot day for a refreshing drink, I like tequila and rum mostly, and I drink some red wine often too. But with beer as my go to adult beverage, I'd weigh about a hundred pounds more! So when I have a cold beer it's a treat. :)

That is wise.

I heard someone say that beer is a great social drink so he doesn’t drink it alone. I bet that would cut my consumption in half and get me out being more social!

Posted using Partiko iOS

It's true, but ya gotta watch out for the "mean" drunks when socially drinking. :)

LOL, your friend owns the brewery?!?!?! So, the beer ended up being okay then? It seems that it started badly, luckily... otherwise you might be forced to drink bad beer out of politeness!

Nah the Black Swan beer was great as always. The Phillips one was strange and it comes from the west coast of Canada.

It wasn’t bad but I only drink beer that is just okay once. ;)

Posted using Partiko iOS

... and then you go and burn the brewery down?

The power of suggestion.....

I'll take an ice cold lemon tea instead, cheers!

The wise words of a life coach.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hahaha... Thanks!

Very refreshing post! 🍺

Posted using Partiko iOS

You should have felt how refreshing it was to make! ;)

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you zekepickleman! You've just received an upvote of 63% by tommyknockers!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your posts



Please come visit me to see my daily report detailing my current upvote power and how much I'm currently upvoting.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 56002.99
ETH 2458.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28