The gift of beer from abroad

zekes-hops.jpg

Recalling a post I read by my buddy @cryptictruth, I remembered I had a beer in the fridge brought from across the world. It is SO nice and rather telling in regards to my obsession with the golden goodness that this is what someone would stow in their suitcase, bring thousands of miles and happily present to me as their momento from their long journey.

IMG_3736.JPG

I had the chance to travel to Malta over a decade ago and I often think of the chance I will have to go back. With so many places to discover on this planet, maybe it is the family I married into that would bring me back to this place again. This beer brings back memories of seaside patios, private dinner reservations in restaurants what were simply the houses of Maltese folks whose business it was to serve dinner at their single large table, to drunken clubs the men would have which were just bars at friend's houses with fooseball tables and only close friends and Canadian guests allowed inside.

What a trip down memory lane.

DSCF0013.JPG

I remember the traffic being nuts and the streets making no sense at all.

DSCF0033.JPG

Businesses would shut down around high noon in the summer because of the heat and the stony beaches would fill up with folks cooling themselves down.

DSCF0043.JPG

The countryside was so harsh looking and prickly pears would grow wild and abundantly.

DSCF0050.JPG

The villages were so closely packed and each held their own personality and mystique. All were build from the stone of the island which seemed to be the only other native resource besides salt.

DSCF0082.JPG

It almost felt like being in the Italian Job with the small cars and the steering wheels on the wrong side.

DSCF0103.JPG

Strange little places that may have been open or closed for years.

DSCF0106.JPG

The worn stone and inquisitive little souls who knew little beyond their quaint stony island off the boot of Italy.

DSCF0115.JPG

This beer most likely cost a couple bucks. It tasted clean and simple like a mexican cervesa to refresh and hydrate the nice people in a warm climate. This simple gesture brought back a flood of memories and longing to return. I bet these champions know what I am talking about. Thanks for accompanying me on this trip down memory lane.

Thanks for the beer!

zekepickleman.jpg

Is there a beer that brings you back to a place on earth or an awesome time in your life?

Sort:  

I always enjoy your images... But that very one you said traffic trust me zeke that is not traffic lol... One this days I will send you some scene of traffic here in Lagos.. Stay awesome!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by (LoD)Zeke from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 66996.66
ETH 3235.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63