#BeerSaturday Challenge Week 32

in #beersaturday7 years ago (edited)

The Dood made his homemade beef stew tonight. We've got pretty crappy weather here and I went out this afternoon to get some fresh ingredients for the stew. A thyme, mushrooms, some merlot wine, beef shanks, etc. The whole time something was nagging me... That undeniable feeling of forgetting something. It just nags at you and no matter how hard you think, for the life of you that one item slips your mind.

I get home and start cooking, and as the first ingredients start sizzling inside the pot it hits me like a ton of bricks! Beer! It's beer Saturday and you forget to grab a decent beer to share with the fine folks on Steemit! I huffed and puffed and stomped my foot, as I added more ingredients to the pot. I thought about shutting off the stove and running back out real quick but decided against it. Then I thought, why not share a local favorite? So today's beer Saturday, may not be the most glamorous choice, but if you ever find yourself in Western New York, it's a long time local favorite.

Tonight's beer Saturday selection is Genesee beer brewed in the Rochester NY area. It touts itself as one of New York's oldest breweries and was founded in 1878. I've always got a few of these in my refrigerator, it's the only beer my father will drink. I pour him various craft & micro beers from time to time, but Genny as we call it locally is the only beer he really enjoys.

20180120_184653.jpg

Bold text taken from website:

The goal was simple: a beer with the flavor of an ale and the smoothness of a lager.

That's how Genesee Cream Ale (the brainchild of this brewery) became an American original. Today, every batch of Cream Ale is skillfully brewed to achieve its smooth character and a remarkably creamy white head worthy of its name.

http://www.geneseebeer.com/beer/genesee-cream/

It's a decent beer for the most part. Bold, crisp flavor, not too hoppy, with a golden blond color. For The Dood it's taste is reminiscent of high school keg parties. Being a rather affordable beer a much younger Dood would throw in his weekly allowance with the rest of the neighborhood hoodlums and get a keg of Genesee on most Friday & Saturday nights. Yes for me this is the beer of my youth, and a reminder of drunken debauchery of days past. Oh to be young & drunk.

The beer did pair well with the rich savory gravy of my beef stew. Other pairings include, pizza, chicken wings, and other bar finger foods. This is a local favorite and served on tap in most local establishments. If you ever find yourself in the Buffalo, Rochester, Western New York area, just tell the local bartender, "Grab me a Genny" It's pronounced like Jenny. I highly recommend trying one!

Cheers, and happy beer Saturday everyone!

Use the BeerSaturday hashtag and share your favorite beer each Saturday! Hosted by @detlev
https://steemit.com/beersaturday/@detlev/whooot-5-steemians-get-paid-to-drink-beer-and-blog-about-this-isn-t-this-a-cool-challenge

Sort:  

i like it....please follow and comment my post....and please upvote me....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63315.26
ETH 2668.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79