The Journey So Far - Beer SaturdaysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #beersaturday6 years ago (edited)

I've been meaning to take part in this challenge for a while and seeing as I'm now living in Germany it would be wasteful if I didn't. Since I've been here I've tried countless different brands (mainly the ones local to the area I'm in at the time). First I went to Ulm to live with my girlfriend and the local beer Gold Ochsen is still one of my favourites. I'm not going to pretend I'm some beer connoisseur although I do know a good beer when I taste one. As with wine tasting I think most people just want to look like they know what they're talking about, saying things like "oooh it's very grassy and full bodied". There are obviously different flavours but when I drink a beer I can taste... well beer with strong hints of.. you guess it... more beer. Maybe I'm just uncultured but the only difference my palate can identify is whether it is bitter of fruity. We've since moved to Reutlingen and there are many good local beers here. Klosterbräu make a very nice Kristallweizen and Barfußer make a very nice unfiltered beer. We also spent one month in Stuttgart and that is where I found the two best beers that I've tried so far. Stuttgrater Hofbräu and Augustiner Edelstoff (Munich beer).

The beer that I will be showing you today is Bayreuther Helles (Light). It is 4.9% which is slightly less than I usually like but it is a very nice beer. More on the fruity side, which is okay. I bought a 5-pack which came with a glass as you can see in the pictures below. It was in the section of the supermarket that had all the limited edition Oktoberfest products but it has no mention of Oktoberfest on the box. Last year I got a 1litre Paulaner glass with a 1litre can of Oktoberfest beer. Each year I want to buy something from the limited edition Oktoberfest products as a memory of every year I've spent in Germany so far.

Anyway thanks for reading and I hope you like the pictures.

southsea.jpg

IMG_2743.jpg

bayreuther.png

IMG_2747.jpg

Sort:  
Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70557.88
ETH 3560.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75