BeerSaturday: Home Brew Stout!!

in #beersaturday5 years ago

BeerSaturday: Home Brew Stout!!

IMG-1738.jpg
As some of you will know, I have been trying my hand at brewing my own BEER from time to time. I have decided to brew yet another Stout!! Above you can see my equipment and the ingredients, which is very basic!!
IMG-1741.jpg
First of all you mix all the grains and put them in one giant tea bag!! The giant tea bag is the submerged into the hot water for 90 minutes. In the photo below you can see the bag inside the urn!!
IMG-1746.jpg
After the process is completed, the water temperature is increased to boiling point. I added half the hops after 15 minutes and the rest after 45 minutes, and boiled the mix for an hour.
IMG-1744.jpg
The hops is added in a smaller bag, you can see the hops and the bag in the photo below.
IMG-1748.jpg
The wort is then cooled down and poured into the fermenting bucket, with the yeast added to the mix!! This is then left to ferment. After fermenting the beer is bottled, and left for another 3 weeks, before it is ready for drinking.
IMG-2077.jpg
After all the waiting the time has finally come to test the newly brewed beer!! When opening the bottle the beer erupted like a volcano, with the foam just keeping to come out of the bottle!! I was visiting my brother and we made quite a mess with the beer all over the floor, luckily we were outside, busy with a good old braai!!
IMG-2076.jpg
Below you can see the lamb ribs on the fire!!
IMG-2089.jpg
Having been caught out by the explosive nature of this beer, we came prepared for the second try, and asked the wives for some plastic bowls to open the beers in, below you can see the result, lots of foam, but no mess!!
IMG-2094.jpg
My brother and I made the best of the situation and drank the salvaged beer straight out of the bowls!! The beer tasted great and I was really happy with the taste!!
IMG-2106.jpg
I made some inquiries with some local home brewers about my foaming problem, and they recon that I did not let the beer ferment long enough and bottled it before the fermentation was completed, leading to more fermentation in the bottle, which caused to much CO2 in the beer!! I will keep this in mind when I do my next brew.

I calculated the alcohol content to be 4.9%, with which I am also happy. I am still looking for a name for my beer, I think Volcano should feature somewhere in the name!!

This is my entry for the #beersaturday challenge by @detlev, you can see or participate in the challenge by clicking on the link. You can win Steem and even !BEER tokens by participating and commenting. This amazing challenge is now running for 103 weeks!! (You can increase my chances of winning, by voting on my entry in the comments of the #beersaturday post)

I hope you enjoyed the post as much as I enjoyed writing it.

The photos, were taken by me, with my iPhone, at my brother's house, in Pretoria, South Africa.

signature](https://steemit.com/created/teamsouthafrica) Team South Africa banner designed by @bearone

Sort:  

@rynow,
OMG your Rhino beer! Nice and looks great!

Cheers~

Thank you, it was great tasting!!

This is great enjoy and excellent photography.
@rynow

We really enjoyed the evening and the beer.

Great looking about the volcano beer, its give pleasure to drink own hand made brewing beer, process is simple and easy as you described.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes, it is easy and I loved the result.

This looks like a tasty fun. Doing my own beer is still high on my list and your post gave some additional motivation to awake the lazy brewer inside me.

!BEER

You must really give it a go, there is a lot of info on the net and it is really not difficult - as you can see my equipment is really basic. This beer really tastes great, it is just that it has to much CO2, which causes to mush foam.

Thank you very much for the BEER token.

To view or trade BEER go to steem-engine.com.

Hey @rynow, here is your BEER token. Enjoy it!

Thank you so much, I will enjoy it!! Cheers!!

Im not a drinker, but I have an old school mate that does a lot of brewing, Ryan Phillips.....thought perhaps you know him (dont know how big the brewing world is)

I don't know him, I also checked on a brewer facebook group, but did not find him there. Thanks for the nice comment.

I used to love brewing my own beer. Lot's of fun!

It is a lot of fun, I am however still quite new to home brewing, this was my 4th beer.

The foam was incredible never seen that wonderful beer saturday before :D

Yes, the foam was a bit to much, but the beer was great tasting.

@rynow You have received a 100% upvote from @intro.bot because this post did not use any bidbots and you have not used bidbots in the last 30 days!

Upvoting this comment will help keep this service running.

Thank you so much, I hate bidbots!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59702.71
ETH 2542.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54