Beer and Fish!!

in #beersaturday7 years ago (edited)

Beer and Fish!!
IMG_2648.jpg
As you will know by now, I was quite active on my recent vacation. All this activity obviously causes a big hunger and thirst. What better way to address both these serious issues, than to visit a small restaurant situated right on the harbor??? First things first, thus I ordered a nice beer for starters!! I opted for a good old Amstel Lager. When they brought the beer and glass as in the photo below, I immediately knew I was at the right place, look at that frosting on the glass.
IMG_2638.jpg
The label in front states that it is slow brewed and extra matured!!
IMG_2641.jpg
Below you can see the label on the back of the bottle. This is again an interesting one. Slow Brewed under supervision of Amstel Brouwerij B.V., Holland for Heineken SA, --------- Produced in South Africa. I wonder how closely those guys are supervising the brewing process in South Africa, from Holland?? The beer comes in a 330ml bottle and has 5% alcohol.
IMG_2646.jpg
It pours nicely with a thick foamy white head, which dissipates after a short while.
IMG_2652.jpg
I loved the beer, it is nice and refreshing and definitely not to heavy, a beer that you can drink all day long, very nice!! In the photo below I balanced the beer on the windowsill, taking some chances with the precious golden liquid!! It almost looks like a painting in the background!!
IMG_2657.jpg
The restaurant is named Viking Fishing, Anchor Restaurant. The obvious choice for food at a Fishing Restaurant right on the harbor, must be fish, and that is exactly what I ordered. Below is the menu with the prices in Rand with one Dollar = 14 Rand. (In a recent post I stated 13 Dollar, but our President, did some cabinet shuffling and now it is 14 Dollar, by the way steem is worth much more than a Rand!!!)
IMG_2661_2.jpg
Below you can see where the restaurant is situated, the building is basically the fishery and the front double story part with the dark blue is the restaurant. It is a very small restaurant. We sat at the bottom where there are only 3 tables.
IMG_2627.jpg
Below you can see the view from the inside, nice!! As you can see the furniture is minimalistic, but we enjoyed it a lot, as the saying goes - location, location!!
IMG_2633.jpg
Below is my lovely wife and I, we obviously looked the other way while eating, but we had to do it this way to show the view.
IMG_2637.jpg
I ordered the cob which came with salad and rice. This fish is very popular in South Africa and has a delicious white meat!!
IMG_2678.jpg
IMG_2682.jpg
While busy eating a fishing boat came in, they mostly caught some sharks. In South Africa we don't eat shark, thus I asked them what they do with them and apparently they export them and also send them to the fish-finger (Fish-sticks in the US) factory. Fish-fingers are quite popular in South Africa, thus we eat shark after all, without realizing that we do!! Below you can see the fishermen offloading their catch.
IMG_2687.jpg
Where there is fish, you will find seagulls!!
IMG_2632.jpg

Like usual my wife and I had a great time exploring different places during our vacation.

If you enjoyed this post, please go and vote for my comment in the #beersaturday contest as hosted by @detlev, this will help me to win the competition and as a bonus you can read some more nice beer posts. Click on the link #BeerSaturday and search for my comment, then vote on my comment. You can always enter the competition yourself with a nice beer post and you could win some SBD. (You don't have to post on Saturday any day is fine)

I took the photos during my resent vacation at Jongensfontein, Western Province, South Africa by using my iPhone.

I hope you enjoyed it as much as I did.

Sort:  

Nice place, nice food and drinks!

Yes, it was great.

Beer and Fish!

That's awesome @rynow..
I would like to correct this my friend..
I wondered about pricing in the menu..
Not One Rand = 14 Dollar
14 South African Rand equals
0.992 US Dollar..
Then Fuze Tea ☕ will around 1 USD/SBD..

You are correct R14,00 = $1.00

What a great combo :) <3 rynow :)

It was great.

that's very helpful post!!
thank you.

Thank you.

great delicious food............./////////////

It was real good!!

Very artistic beer photos and the food looks great!

Yes, I loved the beer and food!!

fantastic chilled bear a treat :)

It was a real treat!!

What could be better than a day by the ocean with fresh seafood and a refreshing beer. Thanks for sharing this.

Yes, I loved it!!

what an idea! simply outstanding..

It was fantastic!

wow man you are enjoying your day so good :)
thanks for sharing :)

I loved it!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64377.96
ETH 3500.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52